Mom's Paprika Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Hi, I'm the writer of this recipe. I use 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoons of paprika, not the 1/2 teaspoon that was published here. Try it with more paprika, trust me there's plenty of flavour in both the chicken and the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Great recipe - took some advice from other posters and put the potatoes in the microwave for 4 minutes. Used boneless skin less chicken breast, a bit more butter (1 tbsp) and a small amount of olive oil. I cut a large onion and put that in the pan, the onion got very sweet and added a great flavor. I also doubled the paprika and garlic. Very easy and very tasty - nothing bland about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORRANGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is very similar to my grandmother's recipe. My mother made this and now I have for 30 years - this is one my husbands favorite meals. I most often use thighs (with or without bone) and I don't usually brown the meat, but if I do the chicken is seasoned first and browned in a bit of olive oil. I do use more seasoning on the meat, especially the paprika and I also add seasonings to potatoes. I often add onion and always put the potatoes (cut fairly small, so they cook faster) under the chicken (they cook better in some liquid and soak up the chicken flavor too) and add a bit of water 3 to 4 Tbsp. ( more if it dries out) Then cover and cook on low to med low. Can't be too high a heat, just a simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very tasty!! I followed the recipe as directed as I believe in doing it the cooks way the first time and see if I need to tweak it after that. To my family and I this needed no tweaking at all! The potatoes were SO yummy as they were flavored by the chicken and the carrots were so sweet! The chicken of course was super tender. My kids were asking for more veggies. I did have to use thighs though as that was the only chicken I had and of course they worked perfect! Some are saying this didn't have enough flavor for them, I feel that it is a simple yet flavorful meal. I grew up in the country and I prefer a meal that is allowed to flavor itself with a "little" help from spices. Oh and a added bonus for this dish? 1 skillet cleanup! !:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateandnatesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
It was a really good recipe. The potatoes weren't cooked long enough though and cause of that the chick was cooked too long and was a bit dry. So i suggest that you start cooking the potatoes before the Chicken. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was a very good, complete, one skillet meal. I substituted olive oil for the butter. I will definetly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
My whole family loved this. I did change it up a little, but it's a great base recipe. I sauteed onions and garlic along with the chicken that I couldn't help but sprinkle with a little bit of lemon pepper. I also took some of the other reviewers advice and cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 4 minutes before throwing them into the chicken pan. I them let all of them cook together with the rest if the ingredients for about 5-10 minutes, and noticed it was looking a little dry, so I added some chicken broth and white wine. I then let it simmer for about 20 more minutes, when it came out it was perfect, and very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I tried this yesterday, and it turned out very well. I had to however add more salt than what was suggested, otherwise, the taters were going to be pretty bland. It was tasty. My husband had good comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is QED: quick, easy, and delicious--just what I need on a busy (or lazy) day. NOTE TO PANCAKE 1017: Potatoes will cook in plenty of time if you start them in the microwave at full power for 3-5 minutes before adding to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This dish has become one of our favorites. The important thing is to let the moisture cook off so the carrots and potatoes caramelize in the chicken drippings and butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magdelaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Inyokern, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States