Mom's Old Fashioned Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Another skeptic turned believer! This was absolutely delicious and a wonderful surprise. I use my own spices (Lawry's garlic salt, celery seed, black pepper and poultry seasoning) in my breading mix, but I cooked everything exactly the way it said. I cooked my vegetarian's Morning Star chicken tenders right in the sherry with the regular chicken and both kids asked for seconds. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
oil amount has to be wrong, i used about 1/2 inch of oil, coating was too moist for me so i cooked 10 min longer without lid, flavor was 5 stars. Will be better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bts6002

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
What a wonderful recipe! The chicken was amazing, very delicious and not dry or soggy. You definitely need more than 1 Tbl of oil for the pan to get an inch. I only added enough to make for 1/4 inch, and it was at least 3 Tbl. I didn't have any sherry so I used 1/2 cup brandy and 1/2 cup apple juice. Very moist texture and yummy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evanwhitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I used this simple recipe with the sour cream recipe I found on here and I finally got it right. I used whole legs, next time I'll just use drumsticks. You are going to need more than a tablespoon of oil. Not a low fat recipe, but a great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Becker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
this is so good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
It came out soggy- will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
needed more oil than it says but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have never cooked fried chicken before. I was skeptical that this would turn out, but I was happily surprised. I fried chicken legs and I followed the recipe exactly. When the legs came out of the final simmering pan, I wasn't happy with how soft they were. I wanted my fried chicken crispy. I took the chicken and put it in the flour and seasoning again and fried it for another 5 minutes. We loved it! I enjoyed the extra coating and was so pleased with the outcome I will surely make this again. This is great, even a novice can cook this successfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonTN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was AWESOME! Everyone I made it for said it was the best fried chicken they had ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States