Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Increase sugar from 2t to 2T. Cook oats in the milk and cool before adding it to the rest of the mix. No need for syrup! Top with jelly/jam or fresh sliced fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I loved them. I halved the recipe to make 2 servings, and I doubled the sugar and added 1 tsp vanilla. The batter was a little runny, but the pancakes were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I love these pancakes! I make them all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
After reading other reviews I only added 1c of buttermilk and the rest of the ingredients I left the same. I also added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. I dropped the blueberries into the pancakes while they were cooking. They are very hearty and only needed a bit of maple syrup to be perfect. This made 8 softball sized pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These rocked!!! Everyone dug in and there wasn't a crumb left. I didn't alter the ingredients, but I did microwave the oats in the buttermilk for a min or so and let them set to cool back down. The batter was perfection!!!! Will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Based on some of the reviews, I made the following modifications: 1/2C less buttermilk, half flour/half oats, let the oats soak in the buttermilk for about 15 minutes, beat the egg lightly before stirring into the buttermilk/oats, mixed the blueberries with the flour before stirring into the wet ingredients, and let the batter sit while heating the pan. Also substituted honey for the sugar and mixed it with the beaten egg first. Our pancakes turned out AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Added more cinnamon and flour. There a great change from the ordinary pancake. Great for a snack even cold without syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My entire family RAVES about these pancakes. They request them all the time. We use quick cook oats and let the batter sit few a few minutes to thicken up before cooking and have never had any issues with runny batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My husband and I loved these! Don't know what the "too runny" thing is about... Here are the things I did a little differently: 1- I mixed the batter and let it sit while I heated the pan; 2- I used a whisk to beat the eggs into the batter; 3- I dropped the frozen blueberries into the batter after I had poured the batter into the frying pan - I didn't add them to the batter in the bowl. Don't know what was the trick - but these were delicious and we'll be making them again. Thanks for a _wonderful_ Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
These were very different from the pancakes I am used to but AWESOME! My son who is 2 just loved them. Of course he was blue from his fingers to his elbows annd from his lips to his eyebrows, but it is worth it! If you make the bayyer and let it sit for about 10 minutes, it sets very well! We eat these almost every weekend now!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States