Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
Hmmm. Maybe I did something wrong but they were too thin and I had to add extra flour. They were a bit doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Far too much milk, batter was soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
The batter was so thin..I ended up adding about 1/4 cup more flour, and letting it sit for about 30 minutes. The oats kind of sucked up the liquid, and it was much more manageable that way. They were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
Don't make the mistake of trying to make this. It does not work. The batter is runny and it burns while you are waiting for the pancake to cook. Thanks for ruining my Sunday Morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
These were very different from the pancakes I am used to but AWESOME! My son who is 2 just loved them. Of course he was blue from his fingers to his elbows annd from his lips to his eyebrows, but it is worth it! If you make the bayyer and let it sit for about 10 minutes, it sets very well! We eat these almost every weekend now!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Made these for my visiting Mom and husband. They were too runny. I think directions need something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My husband and I loved these! Don't know what the "too runny" thing is about... Here are the things I did a little differently: 1- I mixed the batter and let it sit while I heated the pan; 2- I used a whisk to beat the eggs into the batter; 3- I dropped the frozen blueberries into the batter after I had poured the batter into the frying pan - I didn't add them to the batter in the bowl. Don't know what was the trick - but these were delicious and we'll be making them again. Thanks for a _wonderful_ Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
The recipe was tasty, but I agree with those who said the batter was thin. I added a bit of baking powder to help it thicken up in the bowl. The pancakes did ultimately have a good consistency. I used old-fashioned rolled oats, and substituted low-fat milk for half of the buttermilk since I only had one cup of buttermilk left in the fridge. I wonder - did the original poster and some of the reviewers use quick-cooking rolled oats? That would absorb the liquid faster and possibly contribute to our wide differences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Basic recipe was very good - I mixed the oatmeal and buttermilk and let it stand for 10 minutes. Beat the eggs slightly before adding with the remaining ingredients. Also added 2 tablespoons of oil, a big dash of cinnamon. Result was excellent and not at all runny. Will double recipe next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Added more cinnamon and flour. There a great change from the ordinary pancake. Great for a snack even cold without syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States