Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
crumbly but I love them! I think they need a little more salt though and possibly vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I loved them. I halved the recipe to make 2 servings, and I doubled the sugar and added 1 tsp vanilla. The batter was a little runny, but the pancakes were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I should have read over the reviews a little more carefully before I made this. I'm a little more than irritated. I know about making pancakes with oatmeal, that when you make the batter, you've got to let it sit a little before pouring it on the griddle so I thought this was the issue when I read through the other reviews. I let this sit for twenty minutes and it had puffed up but wasn't really soaking up the wet ingredients. I did add 1 tsp. of vanilla to the wet ingredients but that wouldn't make this much of a difference in how wet the pancake batter was. I folded in another 1/2 c. of oatmeal and 3/4 c. of flour before I could get it firm enough to not spread all over the liquid and make a pancake. Luckily, the pancakes didn't turn out tough. I did drop blueberries onto each pancake after spooning it on the griddle instead of putting them inside the batter. The flavor of these were good, it's just a pain in the behind to get it to the right consistancy. I think that if you let the batter sit overnight, you might be about right with the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
not great. none of my young children(or husband) liked these. i liked the oatmeal, but they just didn't really hold up well. took a long time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
So runny and did not taste good at all. I tossed them and the rest of the batter out and used another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were so dense and full of fiber! I allowed my batch to rest for 30-45 mins before cooking and the oats did not soak up much moisture - I had to add some flour to get them to hold a decent shape on the griddle. I made these for my son's sleepover and the kids all ate them (with homemade strawberry topping). It only took one and a half per kid to fill their bellies. But WOW! If you eat more than two (4" cakes) they sit like a lump in your stomach. I will probably not make these again, just too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWICEMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pima, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
i dont know what happened but mine were way too doughy after i added extra flour based on others reviews, the taste was very bland and it seemed like i had to used twice the amount of syrup i usually do... weird i know. anyway i will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I used quick cooking oats, and the batter was still very runny, even after allowing to sit about 10 minutes. I added buttermilk pancake mix. Next time I would add the blueberries in the pan....if there is a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by empebi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These tastied very good but they were very hard to make. They were a little to runny to flip so we had to add extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States