Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Taste ok, but WAY too runny. Use half the recommended buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Think I have the answer to the is it runny/is it not dichotomy in the reviews: allow the batter to rest for 15-20 minutes in order for the oats to absorb the liquid. This will thicken the batter and prevent the pancakes from being 'crumbly' when flipped. Also, if you don't plan on using a salted butter or spread when serving, then I recommend increasing the salt to 3/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Errantdreams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Based on some of the reviews, I made the following modifications: 1/2C less buttermilk, half flour/half oats, let the oats soak in the buttermilk for about 15 minutes, beat the egg lightly before stirring into the buttermilk/oats, mixed the blueberries with the flour before stirring into the wet ingredients, and let the batter sit while heating the pan. Also substituted honey for the sugar and mixed it with the beaten egg first. Our pancakes turned out AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
First recipe from here that turned out practically non-edible. Was I supposed to use instant oatmeal? I used regular and it was really uncooked tasting and bland. Didn't "go" with blueberries either (I sprinkled them in). To use up the batter I made the next batch with cinnamon, vanilla, & maple syrup in the batter. OK flavor then, but still horrible texture. I would have given it one star - but maybe it was my fault for using the wrong oats? I've had oatmeal pancakes before and liked them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These rocked!!! Everyone dug in and there wasn't a crumb left. I didn't alter the ingredients, but I did microwave the oats in the buttermilk for a min or so and let them set to cool back down. The batter was perfection!!!! Will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were decent pancakes -- kinda in the middle of the pancake road. It probably helped that I ground 1 3/4 cup oats to yield the required 1 1/2 cups; it seemed to absorb some of the excess liquid other reviewers were trying to combat. And while these did have that preferred pancake 'bounce and fluff', they were just a little lackluster in the taste department (other than the bites containing a juicy berry) -- increasing the sugar or adding some vanilla might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I love these pancakes! I make them all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Increase sugar from 2t to 2T. Cook oats in the milk and cool before adding it to the rest of the mix. No need for syrup! Top with jelly/jam or fresh sliced fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
crumbly but I love them! I think they need a little more salt though and possibly vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I loved them. I halved the recipe to make 2 servings, and I doubled the sugar and added 1 tsp vanilla. The batter was a little runny, but the pancakes were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States