Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I really like this recipe ! I love oatmeal ! I did make a few changes, I used whole wheat flour, fried pancakes in very small amount of bacon grease and added toasted pecans; I didn't have blueberries, much to my dismay, because I would have added both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Sorry didn't like these at all! I followed the recipe exactly ...every thing mixed up well & the pancakes looked like pancakes but they tasted like an oatmeal egg & blueberry omelette :( wasn't happy... tasted more like eggs then any thing else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I had to add two very large spoonfuls of flour to thicken this up, but after that it was good. I liked that there's so little sugar. It allowed the blueberries to be the main points of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I tweaked this formula a bit . . .took out 1/2 cup oats, added 1/2 cup whear germ, used brown sugar in place of white sugar, used 6 oz. yogurt and balance of 1% milk to replace 2 cups buttermilk. Pancakes were fabulous! Yes, a bit loose/runny batter - but the batter worked fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GanacheGuy

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I loved them but switched it up a bit 1 1/2 cups rolled oats 2 eggs beaten 1 1/2 cups buttermilk or 1TB vinegar & milk 2 TB Maple syrup 2 TB oil 1 ½ tea Vanilla 3/4 cup all-purpose flour 2 teaspoons white sugar 1/4 teaspoon salt 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda 1 teaspoon baking powder 1 cup blueberries crushed and sweetened to taste DIRECTIONS: 1.In a large bowl soak oaks in the butter milk, beaten eggs, oil, maple syrup and vanilla, stirring occasionally to moisten oats about 30 min. while soaking, mix together in another bowl flour, sugar, salt, baking soda and baking powder. When oats are moistened stir in dry ingredients and fold in blueberries. Add a bit of flour if batter is too runny. Cooked as directed and everyone loved them with maple syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
batter was indeed very thin. They were just so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
These were delicious! The batter was a bit harder to work with than your standard pancake batter, but with patience and a good flipping technique most of them turned out well - and even the "mistakes" tasted great anyway, maybe because they were fried in plenty of butter :-) I cut the sugar down to almost none and added some cinnamon (the blueberries add plenty of sweetness). A big hit with my 5-year-old; he didn't even ask for syrup! Definitely drop frozen blueberries in once they're in the pan - otherwise they will discolour the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
You MUST MUST MUST let the oatmeal and buttermilk sit in the fridge overnight. I actually use a bit less oats and a bit less flower (1 1/3 cups and 1/3 cup, respectively). Let that set overnight. In the morning, add the rest of the wet ingredients (I usually add about a tablespoon of melted butter too). Then, mix in the dry ingredients. Lastly, fold in the blueberries. These pancakes will knock your socks off if you do it my way. I'd give 5 stars to this recipe if it noted that you need to let the initial mixture sit overnight. Additionally, you need to cook these much longer than standard pancakes. Something like 5 minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
After reading other reviews I only added 1c of buttermilk and the rest of the ingredients I left the same. I also added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. I dropped the blueberries into the pancakes while they were cooking. They are very hearty and only needed a bit of maple syrup to be perfect. This made 8 softball sized pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My family loved these pancakes. The batter was a bit thin, maybe because I used 2% milk. I added 1/4 cup wheat germ to add a nutty flavor and absorb some moisture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States