Mom's Mustard Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
I didn't use the celery or the pimentos (hubby doesn't like them),and it turned out fine. This was my first time making potato salad. Tastes great and my hubby wanted me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
Great dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This was a very good basic potato salad recipe. I added a little more mustard, sweet relish and mayo and a little sugar. I had always tried to make a good potato salad and now I've found one with the right ingredients. I also used less onions and celery because of my own family taste. lil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
VERY good! Modified this recipe a little bit....used onion powder and celery salt since I really don't like the 'crunch' of them in my food (but love the taste!!). I also omited the pomintoes. Will make again!!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I leave out the celery and pimentos. Add extra pickle relish and mustard. It's the first thing gone at every occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This beats anything from the grocery store deli! I left out the pimentos and did not mash the potatoes, but left them in bite size pieces. I also substituted in dijon mustard. The result was a tasty salad that did not drown in dressing. Even my husband who hates mayo liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
My mom used to make a mashed potato salad very similar to this. I've never made potato salad and I wanted to give it a shot for our Memorial Day cook-out. I added a bit more sweet relish than the recipe stated, just because I like it. I also added just a touch more mustard (again, just a personal preference). It was fantastic! Everyone loved it and my husband said it's the best potato salad he's ever had. I agree! Thanks for a great recipe that I'm going to be using a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. I left my potatoes soft, but in un-mashed diced pieces. I left out the pamentoes and added more relish (just a personal preferance) and I also used Nayonaise, and left out the eggs to make this a great vegan dish. Definatly a new faviorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
THIS IS THE BEST POTATO SALAD I HAVE EVER TASTED. I MADE IT WITH YUKON GOLD POTATOES AND DID NOT MASH THEM. I USED GREEN ONIONS AND DIJON MUSTARD. I OMITTED THE PIMENTOS. ALSO, I USED EXTRA PICKLE RELISH, MUSTARD AND MAYO AFTER READING THE OTHER REVIEWS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I loved this recipe. I cooked the onions with the potatoes because I don't like raw onions. I also left out the pimentos and celery. I added some black olives, garlic powder, and seasoned salt. I made a double batch for a pot luck and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States