Mom's Mustard Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2003
If you like smooth, creamy potato salad, this one could be for you. It seemed a bit dry, though and in need of more relish, eggs and some salt and pepper. I followed the recipe but rectified some of these problems with 1 1/2t salt, 1/2t pepper, 2T more of sweet pickle relish, 1t more of mustard, 3T more of miracle whip and 6 more eggs. We like our potato salad pretty eggy and mustardy. Thanks David.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
My mom used to make a mashed potato salad very similar to this. I've never made potato salad and I wanted to give it a shot for our Memorial Day cook-out. I added a bit more sweet relish than the recipe stated, just because I like it. I also added just a touch more mustard (again, just a personal preference). It was fantastic! Everyone loved it and my husband said it's the best potato salad he's ever had. I agree! Thanks for a great recipe that I'm going to be using a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This beats anything from the grocery store deli! I left out the pimentos and did not mash the potatoes, but left them in bite size pieces. I also substituted in dijon mustard. The result was a tasty salad that did not drown in dressing. Even my husband who hates mayo liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I loved the end result, but I had to play with the ingredients a fair bit to get it to taste the way I wanted. I think my potatoes were monster vs large so the wet mixture didn't go very far. I used 5 eggs vs 3. I just kept adding more miracle whip and more mustard. Plus I had to add salt since all of my testers said it needed some. I chose to leave the potatoes cubed vs mashed, but I think I could have cooked my russets about 12 minutes vs the 15 minutes. After fiddling here and there, my final addition was some vigorous splashes of red wine vinegar to give it a little extra kick. The final product was just how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
VERY good! Modified this recipe a little bit....used onion powder and celery salt since I really don't like the 'crunch' of them in my food (but love the taste!!). I also omited the pomintoes. Will make again!!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
I really wanted to find a very traditional mustard style potato salad. I tried this recipe a couple of weeks ago, the only problem I had is that my husband thought it was too dry, so I did add more mayonnaise and relish than what it called for. overall I thought it was an excellent recipe, exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This was a very good basic potato salad recipe. I added a little more mustard, sweet relish and mayo and a little sugar. I had always tried to make a good potato salad and now I've found one with the right ingredients. I also used less onions and celery because of my own family taste. lil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This salad worked quite well, but I wanted a bit more taste. I added chopped olives and garlic powder. And I also added more mayo and HOT dijon mustard. It made it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
I didn't use the celery or the pimentos (hubby doesn't like them),and it turned out fine. This was my first time making potato salad. Tastes great and my hubby wanted me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This recipe is okay, but not the best. It was a little dry. I had to mix up more wet ingredients. I also left out the pimentos cause we dont care for them. I doubt I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States