Mom's Mustard Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This salad worked quite well, but I wanted a bit more taste. I added chopped olives and garlic powder. And I also added more mayo and HOT dijon mustard. It made it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I liked that I had everything for this recipe on hand, but, other than that, it was not great. It was too mustardy, and pretty dry. I added extra Miracle Whip, which made it a little better, but I still wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I loved the end result, but I had to play with the ingredients a fair bit to get it to taste the way I wanted. I think my potatoes were monster vs large so the wet mixture didn't go very far. I used 5 eggs vs 3. I just kept adding more miracle whip and more mustard. Plus I had to add salt since all of my testers said it needed some. I chose to leave the potatoes cubed vs mashed, but I think I could have cooked my russets about 12 minutes vs the 15 minutes. After fiddling here and there, my final addition was some vigorous splashes of red wine vinegar to give it a little extra kick. The final product was just how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I loved this recipe. I cooked the onions with the potatoes because I don't like raw onions. I also left out the pimentos and celery. I added some black olives, garlic powder, and seasoned salt. I made a double batch for a pot luck and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
THIS IS THE BEST POTATO SALAD I HAVE EVER TASTED. I MADE IT WITH YUKON GOLD POTATOES AND DID NOT MASH THEM. I USED GREEN ONIONS AND DIJON MUSTARD. I OMITTED THE PIMENTOS. ALSO, I USED EXTRA PICKLE RELISH, MUSTARD AND MAYO AFTER READING THE OTHER REVIEWS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. I left my potatoes soft, but in un-mashed diced pieces. I left out the pamentoes and added more relish (just a personal preferance) and I also used Nayonaise, and left out the eggs to make this a great vegan dish. Definatly a new faviorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
If you like smooth, creamy potato salad, this one could be for you. It seemed a bit dry, though and in need of more relish, eggs and some salt and pepper. I followed the recipe but rectified some of these problems with 1 1/2t salt, 1/2t pepper, 2T more of sweet pickle relish, 1t more of mustard, 3T more of miracle whip and 6 more eggs. We like our potato salad pretty eggy and mustardy. Thanks David.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
My mom used to make a mashed potato salad very similar to this. I've never made potato salad and I wanted to give it a shot for our Memorial Day cook-out. I added a bit more sweet relish than the recipe stated, just because I like it. I also added just a touch more mustard (again, just a personal preference). It was fantastic! Everyone loved it and my husband said it's the best potato salad he's ever had. I agree! Thanks for a great recipe that I'm going to be using a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This beats anything from the grocery store deli! I left out the pimentos and did not mash the potatoes, but left them in bite size pieces. I also substituted in dijon mustard. The result was a tasty salad that did not drown in dressing. Even my husband who hates mayo liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I leave out the celery and pimentos. Add extra pickle relish and mustard. It's the first thing gone at every occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States