Mom's Mustard Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was a really good potato salad...just like my mom used to make. I didn't mash the potatoes all the way, I just kind of "mushed" them a little with a fork, still leaving some chunks, which turned out to be a really nice consistency--not too chunky but not too mushy either. If you don't like Miracle Whip, you won't like this recipe! My kids and hubby do, so it was a huge hit! I didn't have pimentos, but we didn't miss them at all. I did add some fresh ground pepper, a little garlic, and celery salt instead of the fresh celery. Hint: make sure you put salt in the water when you boil the potatoes, and after they come out, soak them in some cool water with a few tbs of vinegar..adds sooo much flavor. Overall great recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Southern Lady Cook
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great traditional southern dish. I made this for Memorial Day. Everyone loved it. I did leave out the pimentos and celery (personal preference). And I don't like onions in my potato salad, so I boiled large pieces of sweet vidalia onions in the pot with the potatoes. Easily removed the onions before cubing up the potatoes. And I used about twice as much mustard, again, that's a personal preference. And used sandwich spread instead of mayo and sweet relish. With my changes, this will now be my go-to potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Really good recipe, didn't use the pimentos though. Turned out great was a little to much onion for me but was still pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stigler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This was just too bland made as is, also as noted, very dry. Doubled the dressing and that helped a bit, but it just didn't have any flavor at all until I added some garlic salt, salt, and red wine vinegar, and then it was barely flavored. I also increased the relish a bit. Just not at all what I was looking for. Not inedible, just not much to it. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Love it! I thought it was wonderful as is, but it's also great with a little extra salad dressing and mustard, and I left the potatoes cubed and unpeeled (what can I say, I'm lazy). Thanks for this--it's now my fave potato salad recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This potato salad was awesome. Taste just like my mom used to make. Didn't use the pimentos -- relish was enough. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This recipe is okay, but not the best. It was a little dry. I had to mix up more wet ingredients. I also left out the pimentos cause we dont care for them. I doubt I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
this dish was so perfect i cannot begin to convey how much everyone loved it. skipped the pimentos cuz the relish had them. will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Delicious, although I didn't mash the cubed potatos and I added more mustard and mayo. I also added red wine vinegar, as mentioned in another review, and some Tastefully Simple Garlic Garlic for a fun kick! Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Delicious. The potato salad recipe I have been looking for. I omitted celery, relish, and pimentos (picky eaters in the family) and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States