Mom's Mustard Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
i used dukes mayo and added onion and fresh diced red pepper instead of pimentos.. this is good on its own but after i chilled it i adjusted it to my familys taste and added a little rooster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
As a cold salad, I did not care for it. To rescue it I made a cassorole outof it with meatballs and a topping of Italian bread crumbs mixed with grated parmesan cheese and dotted with bits of butter--pretty good thaat way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is a great recipe, and easy to alter to fit individual taste. I doubled the recipe. I didn't mash the potatoes, but kept them in small cubes. I used dill relish instead of sweet relish (personal preference) and omitted the pimentos (personal preference). I also doubled the mustard and mayonnaise (used real mayo and not creamy salad dressing) and added about a tablespoon of white vinegar for tartness. I also added about a teaspoon of black pepper to the potatoes before mixing all of the ingredients. It turned out marvelously. My four-year-old granddaughter helped me make it and she gave it two thumbs up! What more could you ask for?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TALKTOKISHA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Dry when made as recipe specifies, but it was pretty good after added about 4x more mayo/mustard combo and a little more dill to make it wet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALKTOKISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I've made this recipe several times now and everyone loves it when i make it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a great potato salad recipe. It remined me of my mamaw's potato salad. For taste preference, I did not add any pimentos and I added extra salad dressing and mustard. It was very good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
really yummy!*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is a good and simple recipe. Instead of the piminto I substituted slices salad olives w/pimintos. My family likes it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was allright. I enjoy mustard potato salad and it is the ONLY variety my fiance and I agree on lol. :-) When the craving strikes, we usually pick up a container at our local deli (we both like theirs). I figured, since I buy the pre-made stuff all the time, why not find my own recipe for it (I could at least control the fat content...)??? Well, I've gotta say that some things just aren't worth the effort. And my fiance didn't even eat any (he HATES eggs). Now I'm stuck with leftovers that I probably won't eat either.... Having said all of that, I didn't find this repulsive, just not to my liking. I definitely think the pimentos are out of place, but that's just me (maybe there were too many???). The amounts of mayo (Miracle-whip), mustard and eggs were spot on. My only "minor" change was to mash half of my potatoes so that I'd still have a somewhat chunky texture. I find that (for all potato salads) if you cut your potatoes into tiny pieces, boil for 8 minutes or so, then rinse under cold water, you'll have perfect potato salad every time. My all-time favorite is loaded potato salad (yum, yum!!!), but I'm glad I gave this one a try nonetheless. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
came out good always wanted to make a good potato salad now ive got one. only problem was that potato's come in diffrent sizes u'll have to play with the wet ingreadents to get the thickness/wetness, u desire, over all the family loves it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States