Mom's Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I just prepared the ingredients and added them to my normal cornbread recipe. Turned out great! I may add chili powder, cumin, or garlic powder, but it was fine as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This recipe is similar to one my Mom has been making for years and it is one of my favorites! The only thing I do differently is I add a can on rotel to the ground beef after it's browned, and let the liquid cook out. I also use dried minced onion instead of fresh, chopped, but this recipe is a winner, and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I have been looking for this recipe forever! My mom used to make this quite a bit and I could not find it anywhere. Thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I like this a lot. I fried the onion and pepper with the ground beef and used lots more cheese. 60 minutes did make it quite brown, so I can see why the other reviewer pulled it after 50, but I like it crispy. I topped it with sour cream served it as a main dish. I don't usually have fresh jalepenos on hand, so next time I'll probably use canned green chiles. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My family loved this! I did add some things to it. I used 1/2 cup of milk, and 1/2 cup of sour cream. I also used more cheese than the recipe said. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_Wanna_Bite!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very Tasty! Here is how I made it: Used Jiffy mix for the cornbread and followed the directions on the box. Added the cream corn to the jiffy mix. Browned and drained the beef. Added a taco seasoning packet to the beef. Put half the cornbread mixture on the bottom of the dish, then added a layer of cheese, then a layer the seasoned beef, then the rest of the cornbread. Cook for 30 minutes, add cheese and cook for another 10. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is the recipe that my mom used to make. So wonderful especially served with a pot of pinto beans.. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Watauga, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is fantastic!! I also spice up the beef a little, whatever sounds good at the time. Green peppers go well and I think since it cooks for an hour you don't really need to saute them first, I put jalapenos on the side instead of cooking into the dish, for the lightweights. Also the jiffy cornbread makes this one the best good/easy recipes ever! Oh yeah, and the sour cream is a MUST. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have been looking for a recipe close to one I found years ago in better home and garden an this is the cosest by far-(I lost my cookbook with all my personal recipes) I used green chilies and stewed tomatos in plce of the jalap. :) it is wonderful - thank you for adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Super recipe, very easy, with minimal ingredients. My husband loved this as well as the children. I also used two boxes of cornbread mix as another reviewer suggested, and layered first cornbread mixed with half the creamed corn on bottom, then cheese, ground beef mixture, top layer cornbread w/other half corn. 45 min turned out perfectly brown yet moist. The chopped jalapenos gave it a nice kick, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States