Mom's Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was very good. Made this as is, except I took it out of the oven after 50 mins. Took it too a potluck at work, it reheated very well, and everbody loved it. I will make this again for home. I might omit the pepper, it had a little too much heat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I have been looking for this recipe forever! My mom used to make this quite a bit and I could not find it anywhere. Thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I like this a lot. I fried the onion and pepper with the ground beef and used lots more cheese. 60 minutes did make it quite brown, so I can see why the other reviewer pulled it after 50, but I like it crispy. I topped it with sour cream served it as a main dish. I don't usually have fresh jalepenos on hand, so next time I'll probably use canned green chiles. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
We did enjoy this. I would have liked a little more bread in the mix to make it a little dryer, but overall good recipie. I am thinking of trying w/pork chorizo for a quick breakfast dish you could just re-heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaboots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This recipe was excellent the first time I made it as is. The second time I made the cornbread as directed but added chopped onions, a bit of jalapeno, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, and thyme to the ground beef as it cooked. I just spooned the ground beef on top of the cornbread mixture and topped with cheddar cheese before 5 minutes before removing from oven. Heavenly!!! Serve with a green veggie on the side and make this an entree'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLouLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferriday, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My family loved this! I did add some things to it. I used 1/2 cup of milk, and 1/2 cup of sour cream. I also used more cheese than the recipe said. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_Wanna_Bite!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I thought this was pretty bland, I even put more cheese and jalapenos, and I added cumin. Still bland, and definitely not worth making again. Also was VERY corn-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
We really liked this recipe. I gave it four stars because I can see how it could be bland as written. I have to say though, it's a great starting place. I have a plan for easy dinners where I cook in bulk and then use as needed. I usually make a huge package of hamburger all as taco meat, with a diced onion and taco seasoning. This was a great way to use up a pound of that from the freezer. I just defrosted it and then followed the recipe as written, with the exception of using a pre-shredded mexican cheese blend, and evaporated milk instead. I also used two eggs, because I used whole can of milk, about 1 1/2 cups, and then threw in about an extra 1/2 cup of cornmeal as well.It was delicious and my whole family enjoyed it. We have a gluten intolerant family member as well, and they can eat it too! Thanks for the yummy mexican cornbread recipe. Mucho Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a good idea, but I was running short on time and altered it somewhat. I browned the ground beef with onion and green pepper then added some Spanish Gardens taco sauce. I left this mixture in my ovenproof skillet and topped it with shredded mexican cheese. I mixed up a Jiffy corn muffin mix adding a can of cream corn to it then pouring it over all of the cheese and beef in the skillet. I baked it until the cornbread was done and served with baked sweet potato fries that had been shaken in a ziploc bag with a little veg oil, half a packet of taco seasoning and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is good and quite easy. We did not have any jalapenos or green chilis, but would use chilis next time. We put our cheese on top for the last 5 minutes in the oven but mixed everything else together as written. Great main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States