Mom's Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used 2 prepackaged cornmeal, mix them seperate and add one jalepeno to each. Put one mix on the bottom of pan, add meat, corn and cheese, then put the other mix as top layer. Makes a "stuffed" cornbread. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Made the recipe with all ingredients and added taco seasoning to the ground beef. Came out great, took to a party and everyone wanted the recipe. I will make it again as I have a request for new years eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I just used the ready made cornbread mix for this recipe and it turned out great! My husband liked it and even had it for lunch the next day, which is rare. i will make this again and i cant wait to start experimenting with it, it's just one of those types of recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Just ok. I think it would have been better if I'd used a sweeter mix like Jiffy or added a little sugar. I topped it with sour cream and that gave it a little extra dimension
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE. I DID MAKE SOME CHANGES THOUGH I OMITTED THE ONIONS AS I DO NOT LIKE THEM. AS ANOTHER REVIEWER SUGGESTED I ADDED TACO SEASONING TO MY MEAT USED SHREDDED MEXICAN CHEESE AND USED CAN CHILIES. I ALSO USED WAY MORE CHEESE THAN THE RECIPE CALLED FOR AND A LITTLE MORE MEAT. AFTER ABOUT FORTY MINUTES MY CORNBREAD WAS RATHER DARK BUT NOT BURNT. IT WAS STILL VERY GOOD BUT ALSO WET. NEXT TIME WILL ADD MORE CORN MEAL TO MAKE DRIER BUT WILL BE A REGULAR MEAL AT MY HOUSE FROM NOW ON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was a decent, filling meal. I threw the onions, along with some cumin in with the ground beef while it cooked. I also replaced the jalapenos with a can of green chiles. 50 minutes was plenty of time to cook the casserole. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by ~Angela~
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is very tasty. I added chopped onions, bell pepper, garlic, chopped jalapeno, cumin and chili powder to the ground beef as it cooked. Also added a bit more cheese to the top. I got lots of compliments on it, even got compliments on the left overs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Angela~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Hewitt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is good and quite easy. We did not have any jalapenos or green chilis, but would use chilis next time. We put our cheese on top for the last 5 minutes in the oven but mixed everything else together as written. Great main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a good idea, but I was running short on time and altered it somewhat. I browned the ground beef with onion and green pepper then added some Spanish Gardens taco sauce. I left this mixture in my ovenproof skillet and topped it with shredded mexican cheese. I mixed up a Jiffy corn muffin mix adding a can of cream corn to it then pouring it over all of the cheese and beef in the skillet. I baked it until the cornbread was done and served with baked sweet potato fries that had been shaken in a ziploc bag with a little veg oil, half a packet of taco seasoning and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
We really liked this recipe. I gave it four stars because I can see how it could be bland as written. I have to say though, it's a great starting place. I have a plan for easy dinners where I cook in bulk and then use as needed. I usually make a huge package of hamburger all as taco meat, with a diced onion and taco seasoning. This was a great way to use up a pound of that from the freezer. I just defrosted it and then followed the recipe as written, with the exception of using a pre-shredded mexican cheese blend, and evaporated milk instead. I also used two eggs, because I used whole can of milk, about 1 1/2 cups, and then threw in about an extra 1/2 cup of cornmeal as well.It was delicious and my whole family enjoyed it. We have a gluten intolerant family member as well, and they can eat it too! Thanks for the yummy mexican cornbread recipe. Mucho Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States