Mom's Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very Tasty! Here is how I made it: Used Jiffy mix for the cornbread and followed the directions on the box. Added the cream corn to the jiffy mix. Browned and drained the beef. Added a taco seasoning packet to the beef. Put half the cornbread mixture on the bottom of the dish, then added a layer of cheese, then a layer the seasoned beef, then the rest of the cornbread. Cook for 30 minutes, add cheese and cook for another 10. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used 2 prepackaged cornmeal, mix them seperate and add one jalepeno to each. Put one mix on the bottom of pan, add meat, corn and cheese, then put the other mix as top layer. Makes a "stuffed" cornbread. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Made the recipe with all ingredients and added taco seasoning to the ground beef. Came out great, took to a party and everyone wanted the recipe. I will make it again as I have a request for new years eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I just used the ready made cornbread mix for this recipe and it turned out great! My husband liked it and even had it for lunch the next day, which is rare. i will make this again and i cant wait to start experimenting with it, it's just one of those types of recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Just ok. I think it would have been better if I'd used a sweeter mix like Jiffy or added a little sugar. I topped it with sour cream and that gave it a little extra dimension
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE. I DID MAKE SOME CHANGES THOUGH I OMITTED THE ONIONS AS I DO NOT LIKE THEM. AS ANOTHER REVIEWER SUGGESTED I ADDED TACO SEASONING TO MY MEAT USED SHREDDED MEXICAN CHEESE AND USED CAN CHILIES. I ALSO USED WAY MORE CHEESE THAN THE RECIPE CALLED FOR AND A LITTLE MORE MEAT. AFTER ABOUT FORTY MINUTES MY CORNBREAD WAS RATHER DARK BUT NOT BURNT. IT WAS STILL VERY GOOD BUT ALSO WET. NEXT TIME WILL ADD MORE CORN MEAL TO MAKE DRIER BUT WILL BE A REGULAR MEAL AT MY HOUSE FROM NOW ON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was a decent, filling meal. I threw the onions, along with some cumin in with the ground beef while it cooked. I also replaced the jalapenos with a can of green chiles. 50 minutes was plenty of time to cook the casserole. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by ~Angela~
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is very tasty. I added chopped onions, bell pepper, garlic, chopped jalapeno, cumin and chili powder to the ground beef as it cooked. Also added a bit more cheese to the top. I got lots of compliments on it, even got compliments on the left overs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Angela~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Hewitt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is good and quite easy. We did not have any jalapenos or green chilis, but would use chilis next time. We put our cheese on top for the last 5 minutes in the oven but mixed everything else together as written. Great main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a good idea, but I was running short on time and altered it somewhat. I browned the ground beef with onion and green pepper then added some Spanish Gardens taco sauce. I left this mixture in my ovenproof skillet and topped it with shredded mexican cheese. I mixed up a Jiffy corn muffin mix adding a can of cream corn to it then pouring it over all of the cheese and beef in the skillet. I baked it until the cornbread was done and served with baked sweet potato fries that had been shaken in a ziploc bag with a little veg oil, half a packet of taco seasoning and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States