Mom's Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Easy to make, but tastes fairly ordinary, even with the extra spicy jalapenos I used and corn kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Super recipe, very easy, with minimal ingredients. My husband loved this as well as the children. I also used two boxes of cornbread mix as another reviewer suggested, and layered first cornbread mixed with half the creamed corn on bottom, then cheese, ground beef mixture, top layer cornbread w/other half corn. 45 min turned out perfectly brown yet moist. The chopped jalapenos gave it a nice kick, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Yvette Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I just prepared the ingredients and added them to my normal cornbread recipe. Turned out great! I may add chili powder, cumin, or garlic powder, but it was fine as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Debbie Mayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have been looking for a recipe close to one I found years ago in better home and garden an this is the cosest by far-(I lost my cookbook with all my personal recipes) I used green chilies and stewed tomatos in plce of the jalap. :) it is wonderful - thank you for adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is fantastic!! I also spice up the beef a little, whatever sounds good at the time. Green peppers go well and I think since it cooks for an hour you don't really need to saute them first, I put jalapenos on the side instead of cooking into the dish, for the lightweights. Also the jiffy cornbread makes this one the best good/easy recipes ever! Oh yeah, and the sour cream is a MUST. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
We could not eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is the recipe that my mom used to make. So wonderful especially served with a pot of pinto beans.. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Watauga, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This recipe is similar to one my Mom has been making for years and it is one of my favorites! The only thing I do differently is I add a can on rotel to the ground beef after it's browned, and let the liquid cook out. I also use dried minced onion instead of fresh, chopped, but this recipe is a winner, and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very Tasty! Here is how I made it: Used Jiffy mix for the cornbread and followed the directions on the box. Added the cream corn to the jiffy mix. Browned and drained the beef. Added a taco seasoning packet to the beef. Put half the cornbread mixture on the bottom of the dish, then added a layer of cheese, then a layer the seasoned beef, then the rest of the cornbread. Cook for 30 minutes, add cheese and cook for another 10. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used 2 prepackaged cornmeal, mix them seperate and add one jalepeno to each. Put one mix on the bottom of pan, add meat, corn and cheese, then put the other mix as top layer. Makes a "stuffed" cornbread. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States