Mom's Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have been looking for a recipe close to one I found years ago in better home and garden an this is the cosest by far-(I lost my cookbook with all my personal recipes) I used green chilies and stewed tomatos in plce of the jalap. :) it is wonderful - thank you for adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is fantastic!! I also spice up the beef a little, whatever sounds good at the time. Green peppers go well and I think since it cooks for an hour you don't really need to saute them first, I put jalapenos on the side instead of cooking into the dish, for the lightweights. Also the jiffy cornbread makes this one the best good/easy recipes ever! Oh yeah, and the sour cream is a MUST. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
We could not eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is the recipe that my mom used to make. So wonderful especially served with a pot of pinto beans.. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Watauga, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This recipe is similar to one my Mom has been making for years and it is one of my favorites! The only thing I do differently is I add a can on rotel to the ground beef after it's browned, and let the liquid cook out. I also use dried minced onion instead of fresh, chopped, but this recipe is a winner, and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very Tasty! Here is how I made it: Used Jiffy mix for the cornbread and followed the directions on the box. Added the cream corn to the jiffy mix. Browned and drained the beef. Added a taco seasoning packet to the beef. Put half the cornbread mixture on the bottom of the dish, then added a layer of cheese, then a layer the seasoned beef, then the rest of the cornbread. Cook for 30 minutes, add cheese and cook for another 10. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used 2 prepackaged cornmeal, mix them seperate and add one jalepeno to each. Put one mix on the bottom of pan, add meat, corn and cheese, then put the other mix as top layer. Makes a "stuffed" cornbread. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Made the recipe with all ingredients and added taco seasoning to the ground beef. Came out great, took to a party and everyone wanted the recipe. I will make it again as I have a request for new years eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I just used the ready made cornbread mix for this recipe and it turned out great! My husband liked it and even had it for lunch the next day, which is rare. i will make this again and i cant wait to start experimenting with it, it's just one of those types of recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Just ok. I think it would have been better if I'd used a sweeter mix like Jiffy or added a little sugar. I topped it with sour cream and that gave it a little extra dimension
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States