Mom's Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I loved it, kids loved it too, reheats well great for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bell Gardens, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Put in a 15 oz can of creamstyle corn and added an extra 1/2 cup cornmeal baked for 70 min. Still did not get done. Flavor was very good but consistency was like dressing. Next time 1/2 can corn. It was tasty bur needs some refinement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Rest, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This recipe I was delicious and different! I mostly followed this recipes, except I replaced the ground beef with ground mexican chorizo, which added some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Made this many times and family loves it. Instead of jalapeños (too hot) substituted about 1/4 c of Pace picante sauce spooned over meat and chopped onion then remaining meat and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I have used this recipe for years, but never put it together like that. I use canned chopped green chili's. The meat and cheese are the middle. 1/2 the batter on bottom and top. Bake about the same, 50-55 minutes. Delicious served with homemade salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I used Jiffy cornbread mix and "Rotel" drained. Turned out great and hands up with two high school seniors. The next time I followed the entire recipe except two things: I used not fresh but pickled jalapeno's as I always have them in fridge. I did layer part of it as someone suggested, for me the layering does not work, it does not mix well. I think this is a great recipe and will continue to use it. Thank you Snowy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have made this so many times and we love it. The only thing I have done differently was mix an envelope of Taco Season Mix with the ground beef when I cook it. I usually cook it an hour or so ahead and let the meat soak up the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klbarr55
Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Seroe Colorado, San Nicolas, Aruba
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is just how my Grandmother used to make Mexican Cornbread. All the way down to the beans on the side. Ive adjusted to meet my husband's taste. I add a little cayenne to the cornbread mix and always extra peppers, but he likes spicy! Thanks*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My daughter and the dog (took the jalapenos out for him) liked it. I used flour in my cornbread mix. I also used cumin and chili powder in my ground turkey and I also used used stewed tomatoes in my bread. I enjoyed it but I think I should not have used ground met it was king of heavy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this on New Year's Day and followed the recipe precisely. It was delicious and I got rave reviews from my friends! They loved it! They were still stopping by 2 days later for more!! I'm about to make another batch. This time I'm using whole kernel yellow corn, more cheese and more jalapenos for a little extra heat. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States