Mom's Mashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I used chopped garlic dills and the juice from the garlic dill pickle jar instead of sweet pickles/sweet pickle juice. It's really just a personal preferance. I slightly mashed the potatoes to have a little more texture to the salad. Simple and delicious--my husband said it reminded him of his mother's potato salad. For those of you who have not tried mashed potato salad, you've got to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This recipe was absolutely awesome. Made twice the batch and made enough for two different events. Keeps well, and was super popular!! Made no alterations to the recipe, made as is... perfect just the way it's written!! Thanks, and Happy Cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
FINALLY...someone else that mashes their potatoes for potato salad...so much more flavour and makes for great presentation if you use an ice cream scoop and place on lettuce leaves for individual servings - thanks for posting your recipe Micke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was my mom's recipe, but she used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo and dill pickles instead of sweet. For a meal, she would fry some baloney and fill them with warm mashed potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is the recipe I've been looking for. I wanted a potato salad recipe that was simple, but tasty, and one that resembles my mother's. She got Alzheimers and never wrote down her recipe. This is the closest recipe I've ever found to what she used to make. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Very simple recipe yet very, very tasty! Stayed true to the recipe and it was a hit. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Awesome very easy to make! Made it for dinner today and the family loved it. The only part I didn't like was peeling the potatoes but is was worth it! You got to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My Mom has always made Mashed potato salad!!! I never knew anyone else made it this way! I love it because it is creamy and our family could eat every bite she made. When I would call it "Mashed potato salad" people would say "Yuck" but they never tried it! Once they tried it, they loved it! You CANNOT get creamier potato salad, and it is addicting! Lol! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I'm from Idaho and I've had my share of potato salad. I made this for a gathering at our church and doubled it and it was gone so fast. People kept coming up to me asking for the recipe, delicious! I used yellow potatoes and didn't peel them. Everything else was exactly like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Love it! Much easier than traditional (chopped) potato salad. I added mustard to taste and sprinkled in some celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States