Mom's Mashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
Fantastic. I'm always asked to bring this to gatherings. I follow the recipe but omit the pickle juice. Instead of pickles I use hot dog relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Made this per instructions with the only change being that I substituted low fat mayo for regular mayo. Very bland and flavorless...still cannot beat Publix' mustard potato salad. For future potato salads I will stick with the Mediterranean Potato Salad from this site...it is very flavorful with far less fat. Wanted to like this, but it was a miss for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Have used this recipe a couple of times. I love using the pickle juice as I can my own pickles each year. I also cut up pickles and throw them into the mix. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Lowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is the potato salad I grew up with. My family uses dill pickles in place of or along with the sweet pickles and perhaps a little more mustard. To be honest I don't think anyone in five adult generations of my family measures anything. We all grew up with it and just throw it together and and it always comes out right. It's good to see someone that does measure post this great recipe. We usually add some paprika on top when finished along with a few slices of boiled eggs for presentation. Try this recipe. My guess is you will get rave reviews from your family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Wow, this makes way more than 8 servings! My 6 potatoes were close to 4 pounds, so obviously I had to up the volume of pickle juice, mayo, and mustard. Way more. I also used extra pickles (I used dill instead of sweet, personal preference). It is very good though! I'd watch the onion though, it tastes a little strong, even with my 4 lbs of potatoes. Great base recipe though! I also suggest mixing the mayo/pickle juice/mustard combo while mashing to make sure it is nice and smooth. It helped me get the flavor of the potatoes right before adding everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This is tasty, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Made this for a potluck and the bowl was wiped clean! Only thing I changed was I added more mustard and eggs and didn't mash the potatoes. My husband is very picky about his potato salad and said this one was a winner. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
My mom always made This. Have been searching for a recipe. The sweet pickle juice is key. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe tasted great as I was putting in fridge to get cold. I used a small red onion and 4 eggs. Instead of the pickle juice I used vinegar. Used yellow potatoes and cooked till real soft. Just chopped them and not mashed. I'd like to try it with the skin on next and green onions. Good all around potato salad recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good texture and overall flavor. Could have used some extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States