Mom's Mashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Love it! Much easier than traditional (chopped) potato salad. I added mustard to taste and sprinkled in some celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is the recipe I've been looking for. I wanted a potato salad recipe that was simple, but tasty, and one that resembles my mother's. She got Alzheimers and never wrote down her recipe. This is the closest recipe I've ever found to what she used to make. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Great, simple recipe! Couldn't find a few things locally so I substituted the sweet pickle with relish and mayonnaise with Spanish salad mayonnaise. Flavor was pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Thanks for sharing your Mom's recipe.I have been looking for a recipe like this for years now!It is so--ooo darn good!It's a keeper in my house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is a really nice potato salad. Used sweet pickle relish rather than pickles and juice and used russet potatoes because that's what I had on hand. Takes quite a bit of salt and pepper. ;-) After eating a bite with crumbled bacon and olive slices that I added for garnish when taking a picture, I will DEFINITELY be adding both of those to the whole batch next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I used chopped garlic dills and the juice from the garlic dill pickle jar instead of sweet pickles/sweet pickle juice. It's really just a personal preferance. I slightly mashed the potatoes to have a little more texture to the salad. Simple and delicious--my husband said it reminded him of his mother's potato salad. For those of you who have not tried mashed potato salad, you've got to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This recipe was absolutely awesome. Made twice the batch and made enough for two different events. Keeps well, and was super popular!! Made no alterations to the recipe, made as is... perfect just the way it's written!! Thanks, and Happy Cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I added more pickles and more miricle whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Awesome very easy to make! Made it for dinner today and the family loved it. The only part I didn't like was peeling the potatoes but is was worth it! You got to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
FINALLY...someone else that mashes their potatoes for potato salad...so much more flavour and makes for great presentation if you use an ice cream scoop and place on lettuce leaves for individual servings - thanks for posting your recipe Micke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States