Mom's Mashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is a wonderful potato salad. I didn't have any sweet pickles, so I subbed sweet relish and then just used apple cider vinegar for the "juice". Was a hit at our Father's day dinner with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Totally easy to make! The only thing I did different was I added more celery than the recipe called for because my family loves celery! As we say in New Hampshire "It was Wicked Good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magagoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very good whether or not you truly mash the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Love it! Much easier than traditional (chopped) potato salad. I added mustard to taste and sprinkled in some celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is the recipe I've been looking for. I wanted a potato salad recipe that was simple, but tasty, and one that resembles my mother's. She got Alzheimers and never wrote down her recipe. This is the closest recipe I've ever found to what she used to make. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Great, simple recipe! Couldn't find a few things locally so I substituted the sweet pickle with relish and mayonnaise with Spanish salad mayonnaise. Flavor was pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Thanks for sharing your Mom's recipe.I have been looking for a recipe like this for years now!It is so--ooo darn good!It's a keeper in my house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is a really nice potato salad. Used sweet pickle relish rather than pickles and juice and used russet potatoes because that's what I had on hand. Takes quite a bit of salt and pepper. ;-) After eating a bite with crumbled bacon and olive slices that I added for garnish when taking a picture, I will DEFINITELY be adding both of those to the whole batch next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I used chopped garlic dills and the juice from the garlic dill pickle jar instead of sweet pickles/sweet pickle juice. It's really just a personal preferance. I slightly mashed the potatoes to have a little more texture to the salad. Simple and delicious--my husband said it reminded him of his mother's potato salad. For those of you who have not tried mashed potato salad, you've got to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This recipe was absolutely awesome. Made twice the batch and made enough for two different events. Keeps well, and was super popular!! Made no alterations to the recipe, made as is... perfect just the way it's written!! Thanks, and Happy Cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States