Mom's Mashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is just like my 86-year old mama makes it. My family loves this. We don't specify the potato, but usually use the cured red potato. Sadly, all we can buy at our grocer is the small new red potatoes. So we've switched to the russets...going to try the Yucon Gold and see how that works. We also use chopped sour or dill pickles, substituting apple cider vinegar when we don't have any pickle juice. Pickle juice is preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
No celery & I use dill pickles.Potato salad isn't mashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This does taste just like Mom's. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I'm from Idaho and I've had my share of potato salad. I made this for a gathering at our church and doubled it and it was gone so fast. People kept coming up to me asking for the recipe, delicious! I used yellow potatoes and didn't peel them. Everything else was exactly like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Very simple recipe yet very, very tasty! Stayed true to the recipe and it was a hit. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I've made this twice now. I used white potatoes both times, plus I subbed dill pickles (and juice) for the sweet, since we don't care for sweet pickles. This is a GREAT recipe. My family loves it, and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have been making this recipe for well over 50 years, tried making others but family rebelled. I also put in green onion and radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Savta Sinda
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used Sweet Bread'n Butter pickles for a little different twist. Yummy recipe!! Brings back memories when my mom would fix Large White Beans and Mashed Potato Salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSelvidio
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Delicious. It has been very hot where I live and I do not have air conditioning, so I definitely did not want to boil potatoes! I microwaved the potatoes whole until tender. Then I cut them in half and scooped out the insides. Kept the house cool and was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was my mom's recipe, but she used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo and dill pickles instead of sweet. For a meal, she would fry some baloney and fill them with warm mashed potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States