Mom's Margarine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised I really didn't expect the cake to come out well because of the margarine and all purpose flour, I expected it to be dense. I have made poundcakes for years only using butter, cake flour, and sour cream. I was a bit surprised when I tried this recipe and it came out moist and delicious. I only made one slight adjustment I only added a 1/2 cup of milk instead of of 1 cup because the batter consistency without the liquid was already close to the usual poundcake consistency and it come out great. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley1214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
What is that swirl in the cake? My cake didn't come out like that. It was very good overall. I didn't use lemon juice and it was fine. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
no problems with this cake,used all purpose flour and a bundt pan,i took one cup of the batter out and addet 1/4 cups unsweetened cocoa,i swirled it with a butter knife into the rest of the batter in the bundt pan.came out great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very good :) Instead of lemon I used almond extract. I used a bit more than the recipe called for, bout another teaspoon. It turned out very well.:D Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the author of the recipe - don't know how to make any comments other than this way...please note that the recipe calls for a tube pan (very important). A bundt pan was likely too shallow for the batter. I'm sorry it didn't turn out for you. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWOWEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
My family and friends looove it. It's a hit at bake sales and I'm making one now for a birthday party. I use just a little less sugar, margarine, and I can't believe it's not butter.YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
LOL, this is a comedy cake! I followed the directions exactly and used a bundt pan. It expanded and started running all over the place in the oven. We had to run fans, open windows and doors because it smoked up the house. Plus it was as if it had cooked hardly at all. If only it were April first. (The batter was extra yummy and I was so looking forward to this...darn it) I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I make this cake yesterday. Use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour and 1/2 cup of sugar less. The texture was very nice which is soft and moist. Taste just like the cake that my mom bake 30 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
My family and I didn't like this cake. It was very dense and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This cake was great ! I didn't have cake flour so I used reg. I sifted 3 times. It still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States