Mom's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I would rate this 10 stars if I could. This is the real deal ... REAl simple, REAL easy , and REAL good! My family is picky about mac& cheese ( usually they want a specific frozen brand and they can tell if it's not that) But the PREFER this recipe! I don't add the tomato and bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
It was delicious after I made some changes. I used Fusili instead of macaroni. I only used 1 and 1/2 c flour, a 1/4 c oil, and 2 cups of cream. I used chicken broth as needed to make a smooth sauce. I also added about a cup of shredded Mexican cheeses. I used a 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I didn't use any bread crumbs. I think I just stumbled upon my best mac and cheese yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I'm giving this a four because of the nice cheesy flavour. Beware! this recipe serves eight! Large pots are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I have mixed feelings about this one. It's ok. I didn't add the tomatoes. I think it has a heavy flour taste and not much of a cheese taste. I didnt have a sauce pan big enough to make the cheese mixture, and I didn't add as much milk as called for. I used about 3 cups. I really liked the consistency though. It was creamy, but just did't have enough cheese flavor. I will try this again with less flour, probably a cup and a half and add more cheese, probably some sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blissfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
so cheesy, and so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This recipe was huge! it made alot! but it was very tasty and filling and something different! the only thing i would add would be salt or some kind of salty seasoning! it was alittle bland but good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
nice recipe. i'd leave out the tomatoes,tho'.own personal preference. i'll use this again and again. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Way too much milk! I didn't even use half the cheese sauce (froze it for another time). Next time I will use less milk, no flour, and no oil. Otherwise it was perfect. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Think broccoli cheese soup and substitute noodles for the broccoli then bake. Not enough flavor for me. I didn't use American cheese, instead I used part mozzarella and part cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States