Mom's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Fantastic! Tried this last night and I think I'm going to make this again today. Just delicious and I prefer this over creamy macaroni salads. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
A nice pasta salad with a non-creamy dressing. This worked great with the fresh veggies from the garden. And, it held up well in the fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Added some sliced kalamata olives and chopped yellow bell peppers for a little more color, otherwise, followed the recipe. This is a nice break from the heavier, but traditional, mayo-based macaroni salad. It had just the right balance of sweet-sour for us.***UPDATE 4.9.13***Unlike mayo-based macaroni salad, this held up very well overnight. Had for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
too acidic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Wow!! I really like this salad. It is lighter and more flavorful than the mayo versions. After reading what some of the other reviews were, I cut the sugar to a half a cup. I also used celery, onions, green pepper and canned diced tomatoes. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My daughter made this salad. We used various tomatoes from our yard, english cucumber, and corn sliced from the cob. We also substituted fresh mint for the parsley and used penne because we had it on hand. It was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This has become a family favorite and my daughter will be making this for our Christmas family get together this year. I had to look it up again to print out a copy for her so thought I would leave a review. Thanks to Rina for sharing. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Made this for a recent party and tripled the recipe, except I only used about 3/4 C. Sugar total, and adjusted the vegetable amounts. Added sliced black olives, diced red and green peppers, and used Bowtie pasta. It was a huge hit and more than one person asked for the recipe. Everyone loved the fact that it was not made with mayo, but a vinaigrette-style dressing. Thanks for a wonderful salad recipe which I'll be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This was a great recipe...I added 4 hard boiled egss, chopped pickles and left over chicken. Next time I make I will add more veggies and extra marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I really really liked this salad. I usually like a creamy salad, but couldn't find a recipe I liked, so I settled with this one and was really satisfied with it!! I don't like sweet salads, and reading some of the comments beforehand, decided to use just 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/2. I also used a whole english cucumber instead of the 4 the recipe called for, an entire bunch of green onion instead of 2 regular onions and added about a half of a green pepper as well. It's just delicious, and I will definitely, definitely make it again.............soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States