Mom's Little Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I exchanged 5 oz of the ketchup for bbq sauce and added 5 drops of tabasco sauce. I had read that someone thought it was to ketchupy and what I did corrected that. They went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious, and very easy to make! Used 1 cup of ketchup, and 3/4 a cup of Barbecue Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonyadehart
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This sauce is so good! I love the cinnamon and clove addition. Adds just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I got the courage to go with this recipe with the unusual ingredients of cinnamon and cloves.... glad I did. This is slightly different from your typical BBQ sauce type dish - and certainly not Italian. Rather a tangy/sweet flavor. Since this was an appetizer for a pot luck party - wasn't looking for a meal - rather tidbits with a different flavor. It was a hit........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Yum! I made it exactly how stated and love the taste. It's different than the typical bbq sauce & jelly recipe that people tend to do but in a very good way. Everything blends together nicely and it's not ketchupy at all. I always make this in a crock-pot since I bring this to my work pot-lucks. I mix all the sauce ingredients in a seperate bowl and pour over the Lit'l Smokies, then stir to coat them. I cover and turn on high for about 2 hours until heated through and then turn to low to keep warm while serving all while stirring occasionally. It's a keeper in my recipe collection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious! I was skeptical of the cinnamon and cloves, but they really made the sauce tasty. I doubled all the ingredients except for the ketchup, and it wasn't too ketchupy tasting. My husband (a huge little smokie fan) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I have always used bottled bbq sauce to make lil smokies, but these were really good and very easy. I added some garlic and onion powders. I will probably make them like this from now on! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
It was okay. Better after many hours of soaking in the sauce. It still carried that ketchup taste. Not sure what I'd do differently. Great in a pinch since most of the ingredients are in your kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Omitted the cloves, and didn't have mustard, used Mcd's honey mustard instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
If you like ketchup these are a winner. I followed the recipe exactly and think it is a winner just like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Little Smokies

A sweet, tangy and fun party appetizer.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States