Mom's Italian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a delicious potato salad! The olives give it an extra kick! I prepared this for a picnic at Wolftrap Park (a US Park for the performing arts). Everyone enjoyed it. My congratulations to the person who submitted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmccloughry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I don't know what seems strange about raw celery and onions. I've never made a patato salad that didn't have a variety of raw veg in it - onions, celery, peppers, etc. I've made a similar recipe to this one and my family really likes the variety of a potato salad w/olives and oil; versus traditional version mayo, mustard, etc. As far as "onion-y", that can easily be adjusted to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
7-6-11: Ann claimed she liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Excellent! I will put in my recipe box. It will definitely be a salad I will be making periodically. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A welcome change from mayo based. I add fresh green beans, cooked crisp tender or canned if I'm short of time. Hubby likes it better warmed, not hot. The ingredients are staples, not exotic-a real go-to recipe. Thanks for submiting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
It seemed like eating strangly raw ingredients, and very onion-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosesgrenadine
Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Turned out surprisingly well, since I didn't have red onions or enough red wine vinegar. I used a lightly sauteed yellow onion and a mix of red wine vinegar, white vinegar and lemon juice to replace the rest. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is a traditional Italian potato salad that my grandma makes except she adds hard boiled egg whites and green onions instead of red. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Yummy ... the picture accompanying the recipe appears to have cherry or grape tomatoes in it, so I added them. This is such a well-rounded side, almost can be a full meal with a few other crisp veggies tossed in as well, i.e., defrosted frozen peas, crisply cooked green beans, even canned kidney beans. I stuck to the recipe, but think I just may make some additions next time I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States