Mom's Italian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Yummy ... the picture accompanying the recipe appears to have cherry or grape tomatoes in it, so I added them. This is such a well-rounded side, almost can be a full meal with a few other crisp veggies tossed in as well, i.e., defrosted frozen peas, crisply cooked green beans, even canned kidney beans. I stuck to the recipe, but think I just may make some additions next time I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
7-6-11: Ann claimed she liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A welcome change from mayo based. I add fresh green beans, cooked crisp tender or canned if I'm short of time. Hubby likes it better warmed, not hot. The ingredients are staples, not exotic-a real go-to recipe. Thanks for submiting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Turned out surprisingly well, since I didn't have red onions or enough red wine vinegar. I used a lightly sauteed yellow onion and a mix of red wine vinegar, white vinegar and lemon juice to replace the rest. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Excellent! I will put in my recipe box. It will definitely be a salad I will be making periodically. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I don't know what seems strange about raw celery and onions. I've never made a patato salad that didn't have a variety of raw veg in it - onions, celery, peppers, etc. I've made a similar recipe to this one and my family really likes the variety of a potato salad w/olives and oil; versus traditional version mayo, mustard, etc. As far as "onion-y", that can easily be adjusted to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
It seemed like eating strangly raw ingredients, and very onion-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosesgrenadine
Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a delicious potato salad! The olives give it an extra kick! I prepared this for a picnic at Wolftrap Park (a US Park for the performing arts). Everyone enjoyed it. My congratulations to the person who submitted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmccloughry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States