Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
This is pretty much the best soup I've ever had and it's extraordinarily easy to make. I added perhaps a bit too much salt and an extra bouillon cube by mistake, so be warned, but the addition of a good amount of red ground pepper flakes really made it quite something. I added a wee bit of extra barley. Why are you reading this instead of making this soup? With a pretty low unit cost, good nutritional value, and great taste it's pretty much perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Tomalty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
So good, so simple. Makes the house smell wonderful. I too tweaked the recipe with wine, fresh bay leaf and thyme and baby carrots. I warmed up a nice crusty loaf of bread and had it on a very cold night. It was perfect. Definitely try this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I've made this recipe many times now-still love it! I add carrots so that it's a complete meal! Sometimes towards the end I add handfuls of baby spinach. Real comfort food. Thank you for a simple, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is a good base recipe for beef barley soup. I added veggies and some extra italian spices as suggested and it turned out very good! I also decided to use beef broth instead of water and bouillon and I browned the beef cubes before cooking for extra flavor. Before adding the spices it tasted very beefy but still great with just salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Excellent recipe. I added carrots and celery. Super easy and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very good and the meat is very tender if you let it cook the full 5 hours. But the photo shows carrots and celery, while the recipe does not. I added both, along with some snow peas, and it was a very good and warm stew-like soup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Good basic recipe. Easy and tasty, though I suspect it would be quite bland as-is. I added vegetables and herbs to taste. It did get really thick - next time I will use the suggestion of cooking and rinsing the barley, or at least add more broth. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My wife enjoyed it & she dosen't like barley. I added carrots, celery, peas,chili powder, onion soup mix, pepper flakes & italian seasoning. Next time she wants me to make it with rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
You know, I liked it. This was my first time making beef barely soup and while I didn't follow the recipe to a T, I did use it as a "base" recipe. I used ground beef instead of chuck roast because I had some that needed to be used up, tomato sauce, added 3 carrots, 3 celery stalks, some seasoning salt, garlic powder, pepper, and italian seasonings, I did everything in the crock pot, browned the ground beef in a skillet with some chopped onion and then added that to the crock pot, I didn't have any beef broth so I used the 5 cups water and beef buillon next time I"m going to do broth. I also added a splash of white wine. However, it turned out great! With the added seasonings and such, it really makes a nice hearty soup. :) I can't wait for the leftovers. I ate mine with crusty bread and a small salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Made as the recipe is, it is awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States