Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This recipe is YUMMY!!!! I made it on a Friday, but then my husband walked in with a pizza for supper. So we had the pizza instead. (I did sample the soup and it was good but a little thin and needed some additional spices. I added some thyme and garlic powder - much better.) Anyways, I put the soup away to eat the next day. On Saturday when I took it out, it was way thicker and was REALLY GOOD. Everybody loved it. There was one serving left over which I had for breakfast on Sunday, and I must say that Sunday was the best day for it yet. The tate and texture were outstanding. One thing I might do differently next time would be to use round steak cubes rather than chuck so the meat would be more tender. This was no fault of the recipe, I just like softer beef in my soups. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Just wonderful! I did add a bit of red wine,fresh thyme, bay leaf, minced garlic, and carrots to the beef broth. I also browned the beef before I put everything into the crockpot. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Great Thick soup that was easy to prepare. Various vegies can be added to taste(carrots,celery,etc) and additional broth or reduced barley for a thinner soup. Garlic and thyme are great additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylynsDad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This recipe is so incredibly easy - my family loved it. It's very healthy, and that's a big plus. I added carrots and celery at the beginning, and also sliced fresh mushrooms the last hour. Next time, I will add more barley, maybe even double it. The taste was rather bland, so I too will add garlic, or Italian seasonings, or maybe a bay leaf or two. Parmesan cheese really improved the taste, even without the other seasonings. Definitely a recipe that I'm going to make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I cooked my barley according to package directions, rinsed with water and added it to the soup an hour before serving. Cooking and rinsing takes the starch out and it won't over thicken soup.Added a chopped carrot and mushrooms and total 8 cups water. Would make again quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Great recipe! I love the way it thickens up and the beef is so tender. I did add celery, carrots, onions, and garlic. Also added a bit of red wine. Very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I was looking for a good beef and barley recipe and this just didn't suit me. The barley soaked up all the flavor from the tomatoes, I don't care for tomatoes but put them in anyway. It really didn't have any other flavor to me at all, the barley didn't soak up the beef flavor. Going to omit the tomatoes next time and add in some spices instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akakizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This is just what I was looking for. A beef barley soup that is self-thickening and has a wonderful hearty taste that kids and adults love. All you need is a salad and crusty french bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Delicious! I added extra onion, and stirred in some fresh spinach right before serving to increase the vegetables, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This was amazingly easy to make, and a great recipe. I added a couple cloves of garlic and some fresh time to give it a little extra kick. I am new to slow-ccoker cooking, and this really opened my eyes as to how easy it can make your meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States