Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I modified this recipe by adding more tomato and vegetables,as well as paprika and a pinch of spicy blend Northwoods Fire from Penzeys. So good with the "French Bread Rolls to Die For". Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
best i ever had. I loved it. I put to much barley in it but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Abney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shell Knob, Missouri, USA
Living In: Vilonia, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Loved this! I made changes out of necessity but I'm sure the recipe is perfect as written. It's a great jumping off point. I had a 1 lb hunk of leftover rare roast beef (eye of round) from yesterday's dinner so I cubed that. Then I realized I left my crock pot at a friend's so I had to make it on the stove. I finely diced and sauteed a small onion in a lil olive oil, added a tsp of garlic, then added water, bouillon, tomato sauce, beef, a bay leaf and a tiny bit of Italian seasoning (the roast I cut up was already heavily seasoned on the outside). I used about an extra 2 cups of water and lil extra bouillon. I then partially covered and let it simmer for a couple hours and reduce a bit. Then added the barley, covered and let simmer on low for about another hour. This is exactly what I wanted: rich, beefy, tomatoey and the barley has swelled and already started to thicken the broth. B/c everyone says it gets better,I'm really looking forward to trying it tomorrow and the next day, b/c it's already pretty delish now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I've made this several times already and kept meaning to leave a review. This is my husbands favorite soup and a big hit with my young boys as well. I usually double everything except the beef (I use ground beef) and that way I have tons of leftovers. The other reviewers are correct in that this does just get better with each day. I also add some carrots, celery and Italian Seasoning. It's a wonderful soup for a cold winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Beef barley soup is one of my all time favorites and this one was simple and delicious. I will definitely be making this one again. I couldn’t wait to dive into it when I came home from work, the house smelled wonderful! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Used about 1/2 c barley and subbed the tomato sause with a 14 oz can petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I followed some suggestions from other reviewers and added thyme and garlic. I also put in a stalk of celery and a large carrot, both diced. I thought that the broth was the perfect thickness, and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Great, easy recipe! Added red wine, celery, carrots and garlic. It was a thick and hearty soup that I made for the very first time. My finicky husband loved it. Easy, delicous comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a staple in our house! I don't put in the onions, as the kids would not do well with that. But, all kids, ages 8,4, &2 LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Yummy! I made a few changes though: used 7-bone roast, beef stock instead of bouillon, 1 small can diced tomatoes and peppers, 1/2 can tomato paste instead of tomato sauce, added celery and carrots, and cooked on the stove instead of slow cooker. Turned out GREAT!! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Starburst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States