Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Beef barley soup is one of my all time favorites and this one was simple and delicious. I will definitely be making this one again. I couldn’t wait to dive into it when I came home from work, the house smelled wonderful! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Used about 1/2 c barley and subbed the tomato sause with a 14 oz can petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I followed some suggestions from other reviewers and added thyme and garlic. I also put in a stalk of celery and a large carrot, both diced. I thought that the broth was the perfect thickness, and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Great, easy recipe! Added red wine, celery, carrots and garlic. It was a thick and hearty soup that I made for the very first time. My finicky husband loved it. Easy, delicous comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a staple in our house! I don't put in the onions, as the kids would not do well with that. But, all kids, ages 8,4, &2 LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Yummy! I made a few changes though: used 7-bone roast, beef stock instead of bouillon, 1 small can diced tomatoes and peppers, 1/2 can tomato paste instead of tomato sauce, added celery and carrots, and cooked on the stove instead of slow cooker. Turned out GREAT!! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Starburst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Great recipe ! I had the beef cut up smaller than usual by the butcher. And I substituted beef broth for bouillon. We prefer it this way. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Italian? Not really. However, it made a very hardy satisfying meal. You can definitly add some more spices, get creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was so good. I added potatoes, carrots, celery, parsley, concentrated beef stock and omitted the tomato sauce. The kids loved it. I loved it. I WILL make this again. It did thicken up quite a bit so today with the leftovers I will just add more broth. Excellent starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
With a few additions, this was great--really tasty and filling. Because other reviewers said the soup lacked some flavor, I used a whole onion and added 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I also added a package of fresh spinach a few minutes before serving, along with a generous amount of freshly grated pepper. I topped each serving with parmesan cheese. The only barley I could find in my supermarket was quick-cooking barley. I wasn't sure how that would work, so I added it after the beef, onion and stock had cooked for about 2 hours. It came out great. I used a whole box (around 10 ounces?) of the quick cooking barley, and the soup was really thick and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States