Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
V.G. with delicious rich broth. I cut the marbled meat into very small dice and sealed in hot oil before deglazing pan and adding to crock pot. I also added teaspoon of vinegar to give added piquancy, and as added meat tenderizer. I used a good Bouillon base with a good beef, and lower sodium content, my choice - 'Better Than Bouillon', beef base. I cooked on high setting for one hour then simmered on low for four. I added a little thyme, and two Bay leaves that I removed towards the end of cooking, before I added the vegetables. I cooked diced vegetables such as celery and carrots, etc., ( and added to cooker for last half hour of cooking to blend flavors. Even better the following day. I freeze in single portions, so made double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was amazing. Was so simple to make. Be sure to get nice big cubes of meat from the grocery store. I cooked it 7 hours instead of 5. I think next time I am going to add mushrooms maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlevitsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was excellent. We added diced carrots and celery, as well as some worcestershire sauce and we did leave it in the slow cooker longer than indicated but it was sooo good. We'll have this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent crock pot recipe. Took about 5 mins to throw together and leave it, only to return after work/school to a fulfilling meal. A definite repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe is a great base, but in following other reviews added finely diced carrot, red wine, grated zucchini, garlic and a big red onion (for a sweeter flavour) this was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I think the wrong picture is on this recipe, does not look anything like beef barley soup on the front page. Recipe really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great hardy soup so good I'm making it again after only a week only this time I'm using a crock pot instead of a stew pot. When I originally made this I substituted the 5 cups of water and 4 cubes of beef bouillon with 6 cups of Swanson's Beef Broth and 4 cups of water. (I always make double batches). This time I used 2 6 cup cans of Swanson's Beef Broth and no water. I also read some of the reviews and added garlic powder, Tyme, 2 Bay leaves and 1/4 cup of red wine. Will sprinkle with Parmasian cheese on top and serve with fresh oven baked white bread (not breadmaker) and freshly baked homemade pumpkin pie for desert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I thought this was a tasty and easy homemade soup. Like others, I added carrots and celery, and a bit more seasoning (Italian seasoning) because that's how I like it, but felt that the flavor would've still been great without them. It was delicious with a warm loaf of French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Was actually completely surprised how wonderful this was! I did add a few veggies just out of personal preference (celery, carrots & garlic along with a little thyme). It was very good, my mother loved it and she is quite picky about things with barley. I used beef stew meat because that is what I had on hand and it was delicious and because it was cooked in the slow cooker it was fall apart tender. Thanks for the recipe, I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
No flavor. The meat was tough. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States