Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
love it is really good . i added cilantro and celery really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was delicious & easy! All I added was mushrooms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So good and so easy! The only changes I made (as many others commented on) was to add carrots & celery & 1tbsp Italian seasoning. It was really good, we all liked it. It was the perfect choice of recipe to set up early, watch an afternoon football game without worrying about supper, then serve when ready. We'll have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Comfort food at its finest. You can jazz this up any way you like. I used beef broth and not the beef boullion because that is way too much sodium for me. I floured the beef and browned it in olive oil, then deglazed the pan with beef broth and scraped up all the fond to enrich the flavor. As you can tell by the picture, I like it thick so I added extra barley. I can see me making this on cold wintery nights. This is a keeper. Additional note: I've made this several times and this recipe is also good with sausage. I browned the sausage before adding it with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Pretty good, just like beef stew except made with barley. I made this on a day we were hit with a snow storn so it worked out well. Just beware, it makes a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I substituted the salt laden buillion with salt-free buillion. The flavor was alittlle bland but it saved over 4000 mg of sodium. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms and sliced baby carrots. Over all it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My picky family loved this. I fried the meat before I put it in the slow cooker and then used some of the water to clean the frying pan. It gave it a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Too watery. Needed more vegetables in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
IF I COULD I WOULD GIVE IT A 10. IT WAS DELICIOUS. I DID CHANGE ONE THING THOUGH AND THAT WAS ONLY BECAUSE DIDN'T HAVE ANY TOMATO SAUCE. I USED ABOUT 4 TABLESPOONS OF TOMATO PASTE AND ADDED A BIT EXTRA WATER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very, very easy. Good enough for a mid-week dinner. We used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States