Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe is the bomb, i change it a little by doubling the tomato sauce, doing this gives it a nice rich color and taste but does not change flavor. I also added a diced garlic and twice as much barley. I cooked it on a pressure cooker and it all came down to a rich, meaty, flavorful meal that you will love. Tip: For the meat get beef neck meat i simply asked for it this way (1 lb) and be sure they make small cubes with this meat, why? well the consistency will be better by having chunks of beef and small pieces it will make a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Too much barley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Mmmm! Perfect soup on a cold rainy night. I didn't use my crockpot since I was home all day ... just simmered on the stove for about 5 hours. I did add the carrots and celery as others suggested, and used low sodium beef broth. While this calls for pearl barley, which I'm guessing takes longer to cook, my grocery never has anything but quick barley, which calls for cooking less than 30 minutes, so I waited and put that in an hour before serving, just so it didn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
everyone enjoyed this including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great, thick beef barley soup. I usually add a 1/2 bag of frozen spinach and sometimes a splash of red wine and thyme. As we are trying to limit the amount of red meat we eat, I tried this using chicken (or vegetable) stock (no bouillon) and cooked chicken or turkey (use dry, white wine for this version). It's healthy, hearty and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Yum! This was surprisingly good!!! My hubs is a BIG fan of barley soup. I'm not. While I am indifferent to barley, I do not care for it enough to go out of my way to eat it on a regular basis. Because this called for a handful of basic ingredients (of which most I had available), was relatively cheap to prepare and offered a no-fuss dinner solution, I decided to give barley another shot. While I was not completely thrilled with the end result, with a little tweaking, I think this can be a HUGE success. My only criticism is that 5 hours is not NEARLY enough time to cook a cheap, tough cut of meat to "melt in your mouth" tenderness. At MINIMUM, I suggest 8 hours. As an added bonus, it's MUCH easier to remove fat from fork tender meat (I don't know about you, but I'm not a fan of fatty chunks of meat in my soup!). You can sub a leaner cut of meat, but keep in mind that you will lose some flavor when you do so (fat IS flavor). NOTES: 1) Be SURE to s&p your soup VERY well (this recipe calls for no spice whatsoever, but a GENEROUS dose of basic seasoning goes a LONG way) and 2) Garnishing with Parm is a MUST! It makes ALL the difference and is WELL worth a trip to the grocery store to pick some up. :) Crusty French bread is all you need to complete your meal. Thanks for sharing, RUSTEE! You've totally changed my opinion about a soup I would have otherwise never considered. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
As is this is not bad at all. Though, I didn't have tomato sauce, so I subbed in a can of diced Italian style tomatoes. After tasting, I just felt it needed a little more added to it to make it a perfect, complete meal. So - I added frozen mixed vegetables, a glug of red wine and some more seasonings to the crock pot. What happened was a complete meal with plenty of flavor. This was an excellent base to make my own version of beef barley soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was only okay. I know it has received a lot of positive reviews, but we found it pretty bland as written. Perhaps if you added a bunch of additional spices, but that is not what the recipe calls for. So as written, I can only give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I did not have beef broth or bouillon cubes, I use a can of brown gravy with onions, added 4 cups of water, carrots and celery and a little more barley and alot of seasoning. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Only used 4 cups of water, large tin of diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I added four chopped carrots and two sticks of celery, 2 bay leaves, garlic and Italian seasoning. It needed to cook longer than 5 hours to get texture right, closer to 8. Very nice. I think a bit of tomato paste would have been nice, but I forgot. Also might have been nice to add some peas at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States