Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
looks good but I add a lot more veggies and herbs to mine. like celery, carrots, mushrooms, garlic,and spinach if I have it. also add a touch of red wine if it's around. herbs include bay leaf, Italian seasoning,and parsley all fresh if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made this recipe but used homemade chicken broth instead of boullion cubes and added cabbage, carrots, basil and garlic. I cooked the barley and added it during the last half hour...couldn't be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is delicious and hearty as written and very versatile in terms of what can be added to it, such as fresh mushrooms or mixed vegetables. Fast and easy too. It's a favorite of ours and one I often take to gatherings where it is always complimented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very filling and tasty, and the whole family loved it! I did add carrots, celery and a garlic clove at the beginning, plus increased the water to 7 cups with one extra bouillon cube. Perfect dinner on a rainy day, served up with warm crusty bread right out of the oven. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I gave it 3 stars because it is yummy but the measurements are way off. Too much barley for us! I'll use it again as a base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe was incredibly delicious. Two recommendations: Use 2 lbs. beef stew meat as opposed to beef chuck that you have to cube yourself. It is incredibly difficult to cut raw meat, especially when it is a thick cut. If there is fat swirled in the meat itself, this makes it even more difficult. I simply used beef stew meat that was already pre-cut in the package, and this didn't take away from the wonderful flavor of the soup at all. Brown the meat before putting it in the Crock Pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe is the bomb, i change it a little by doubling the tomato sauce, doing this gives it a nice rich color and taste but does not change flavor. I also added a diced garlic and twice as much barley. I cooked it on a pressure cooker and it all came down to a rich, meaty, flavorful meal that you will love. Tip: For the meat get beef neck meat i simply asked for it this way (1 lb) and be sure they make small cubes with this meat, why? well the consistency will be better by having chunks of beef and small pieces it will make a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Too much barley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Mmmm! Perfect soup on a cold rainy night. I didn't use my crockpot since I was home all day ... just simmered on the stove for about 5 hours. I did add the carrots and celery as others suggested, and used low sodium beef broth. While this calls for pearl barley, which I'm guessing takes longer to cook, my grocery never has anything but quick barley, which calls for cooking less than 30 minutes, so I waited and put that in an hour before serving, just so it didn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
everyone enjoyed this including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States