Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My wife enjoyed it & she dosen't like barley. I added carrots, celery, peas,chili powder, onion soup mix, pepper flakes & italian seasoning. Next time she wants me to make it with rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
You know, I liked it. This was my first time making beef barely soup and while I didn't follow the recipe to a T, I did use it as a "base" recipe. I used ground beef instead of chuck roast because I had some that needed to be used up, tomato sauce, added 3 carrots, 3 celery stalks, some seasoning salt, garlic powder, pepper, and italian seasonings, I did everything in the crock pot, browned the ground beef in a skillet with some chopped onion and then added that to the crock pot, I didn't have any beef broth so I used the 5 cups water and beef buillon next time I"m going to do broth. I also added a splash of white wine. However, it turned out great! With the added seasonings and such, it really makes a nice hearty soup. :) I can't wait for the leftovers. I ate mine with crusty bread and a small salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Made as the recipe is, it is awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Very tasty. A little too thick to be called soup, so next time I will do as another person suggested. Cook the barley separately and add when soup is almost done. Otherwise it was very good and easy to make. I also added carrots as they are my favorite veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Meat is tough. Way too much liquid. And just bland. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
No flavor what so ever!! Followed the original recipe as given. It was awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was an extremely bland and boring soup, I used beef stock, instead of water and bullion . Added cooked barley at end....used carrots, celery, parsnip, onions and garlic. Also added can of chopped tomatoes with basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Surprisingly good. Husband really liked it. Recipe needs a little bit of "tweaking", though. I added quite a bit of fresh ground pepper and sea salt, as well as a tsp. or two of dried thyme and some sliced carrots. What a difference! You cannot beat the ease of making this dish and it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very scrumptious. Made in the afternoon and ate the next day so it thickened nicely. Added bay leaf and garlic salt and herbs de Provence to pot with everything else. Will def make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori
Living In: Round Top, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very tasty,and EASY! As others have said, great base recipe.I made it the first time as written, then on the second go round, put in celery, carrots, Italian spice, garlic, left everything else the same. It was super good, and cooked perfectly in five hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States