Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Great Thick soup that was easy to prepare. Various vegies can be added to taste(carrots,celery,etc) and additional broth or reduced barley for a thinner soup. Garlic and thyme are great additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylynsDad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Delicious! I added extra onion, and stirred in some fresh spinach right before serving to increase the vegetables, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This was amazingly easy to make, and a great recipe. I added a couple cloves of garlic and some fresh time to give it a little extra kick. I am new to slow-ccoker cooking, and this really opened my eyes as to how easy it can make your meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This soup was delicious! And easy to boot. This is truly a recipe even a beginner could make. Will makes this many times on the years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This soup was a hit with my family. I increased the beef broth the next day to make more broth and also to make more soup to eat. My 11 yr old son had 4 bowls and was looking for more. Easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I added a can of green beans for the last hour. Next time I will also add sliced carrots at the beginning. This was a very enjoyable winter dinner or side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This was excellent...I modified the recipe by adding 3/4 cup of red wine, some mushrooms and carrots. I would next time add a bit more beef stock and some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Easy and delicious. After reading the previous reviews, I decided to add some frozen Italian-cut green beans, frozen sliced carrots and fresh sliced mushrooms. There was plenty of liquid and it made a hearty, satisfying soup. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This was a tasty and hearty soup that warmed a cold winter day. I followed the advice of previous comments and added sliced baby carrots. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This one is definitely a keeper. If my husband loves it than that says a lot. I made it just as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAF1957
Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waverly, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States