Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent crock pot recipe. Took about 5 mins to throw together and leave it, only to return after work/school to a fulfilling meal. A definite repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe is a great base, but in following other reviews added finely diced carrot, red wine, grated zucchini, garlic and a big red onion (for a sweeter flavour) this was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I think the wrong picture is on this recipe, does not look anything like beef barley soup on the front page. Recipe really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great hardy soup so good I'm making it again after only a week only this time I'm using a crock pot instead of a stew pot. When I originally made this I substituted the 5 cups of water and 4 cubes of beef bouillon with 6 cups of Swanson's Beef Broth and 4 cups of water. (I always make double batches). This time I used 2 6 cup cans of Swanson's Beef Broth and no water. I also read some of the reviews and added garlic powder, Tyme, 2 Bay leaves and 1/4 cup of red wine. Will sprinkle with Parmasian cheese on top and serve with fresh oven baked white bread (not breadmaker) and freshly baked homemade pumpkin pie for desert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I thought this was a tasty and easy homemade soup. Like others, I added carrots and celery, and a bit more seasoning (Italian seasoning) because that's how I like it, but felt that the flavor would've still been great without them. It was delicious with a warm loaf of French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Was actually completely surprised how wonderful this was! I did add a few veggies just out of personal preference (celery, carrots & garlic along with a little thyme). It was very good, my mother loved it and she is quite picky about things with barley. I used beef stew meat because that is what I had on hand and it was delicious and because it was cooked in the slow cooker it was fall apart tender. Thanks for the recipe, I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
No flavor. The meat was tough. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Loved the concept and ease of this recipe (beef was nice and tender and the barley just right), but although it was tasty enough as written, it seemed more like a base to me. Next time I will add carrots and celery for a heartier, healthier meal. I will also be sure to measure the bouillon more carefully. I used powder instead of cubes and my "rounded teaspoons" were a bit too rounded making mine too salty. All in all a good recipe definitely on the right track.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
An excellent and super EASY soup. Being Italian I will say it does remind me of my grandmother's version. I used canned Beef broth instead of buillion to alleviate any saltiness and omitted the water. I also threw in a crushed clove of garlic. This is a very satisfying meal on a cold winter night. I am so happy it is so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle Malillo Maggio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Very good. Used a little over 2 pounds of cubed stew meat and beef broth in lieu of water and bouillon. As per other suggestions, added carrots, celery and a bay leaf. Floured and browed the meat first and sprinkled with paprika and garlic powder. Added extra broth the next day. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States