Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great and Easy. I just got a crock pot and this was the first recipe I tried. You may want to add a little salt and a little more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
So easy to prepare. Great comfort food!! The beef fell apart and the flavors combined for a very hearty soup. Serve it with a warm loaf of bread and you have a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a wonderful, hearty soup. Every body loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My husband wants me to make this all the time. He loved having the roast in the soup. I used a combination of beef stock and beef broth, instead of the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Although this was easy to make - we did not care for it. It was too bland. Even followed some others suggestions (wine, thyme etc...) but just wasn't wild about the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was very well liked by my family. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this soup last night. The first thing I did was dredge the meat in flour and brown. I also sprinkled it with some garlic, salt, pepper seasoning. Then I added everything to the crock pot. Instead of tomato sauce I used my own canned tomatoes, some chunky carrots and celery and a handful of frozen peas. Set the crock pot on high, not low and cooked it for 5 hours. This was the best barley soup we have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Made this yesterday. It is one of the best beef barley soups I have ever had. I was afraid the 2 lbs of meat was too much but it was perfect. A small salad and dinner is complete! If you have never made soup from scratch this one is a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Love this! was a big hit. I did add celery and carrots. Next time will add potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was a great soup and I also made some changes. I browned the meat with a small amount of flour in olive oil and added the leftover flour into the pot. Also I added 1 cup of chopped carrots and one celery stalk, chopped. I used canned tomatoes but would try the tomato sauce next time and would try different seasoning like bouquet garni. Lastly I would use 1 cup of barley because I love barley. I have been trying for years to find a beef barley soup that was like one my sister used to make and this is it. The soup was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States