Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Only used 4 cups of water, large tin of diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I added four chopped carrots and two sticks of celery, 2 bay leaves, garlic and Italian seasoning. It needed to cook longer than 5 hours to get texture right, closer to 8. Very nice. I think a bit of tomato paste would have been nice, but I forgot. Also might have been nice to add some peas at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I didn't really enjoy this recipe. I am not sure if it had too much onions but the taste wasn't that good to me husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Very tasty, very easy, very thick. I used boxed beef broth instead of bouillon. Would definitely make again--both my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Mmmmm.....very comforting food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a great basic soup recipe that you can alter to suit your tastes. For example, I used beef broth instead of bouillon and water. I added garlic, carrots, celery, and a can of petite diced tomatoes (drained), as well as a splash of red wine. I also browned the meat (after dredging in flour, S&P) and veggies first before placing in the crock pot. Then deglazed the pan with some of the broth and added that to the crock pot. Tossed in some fresh rosemary from my garden. These extra steps resulted in a hearty soup with lots of Italian flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueHydrangea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I bought "stew meat" (whatever type of beef that is) and it worked perfectly. I also added chopped spinach towards the end of the the cooking time. I've made it twice in the last month thinking I was going to freeze some for later, but we just loved it so much that there wasn't any to freeze! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
love it is really good . i added cilantro and celery really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was delicious & easy! All I added was mushrooms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So good and so easy! The only changes I made (as many others commented on) was to add carrots & celery & 1tbsp Italian seasoning. It was really good, we all liked it. It was the perfect choice of recipe to set up early, watch an afternoon football game without worrying about supper, then serve when ready. We'll have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States