Mom's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The raisins make it very sweet. It's like a giant biscuit. Perfect with corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe was easy to put together and the bread was delicious!!!!!! I did leave out the raisins though. Thank you for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
2 THUMBS UP ON THIS RECIPE! It's going to be Marvelous with my Corn Beef and cabbage cooked unauthenically in a CROCK POT for dinner tonight! THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO POST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Fidik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I left out the golden raisins but otherwise made no modifications. Excellent, I really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Wonderful St. Patty's Day treat! I made no changes to this recipe and it came out great. Although, I baked my soda bread for 55 minutes in the oven and the bottom was a little burnt. I would recommend cooking it for, maybe, 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is delicious! At first I thought I did something wrong because it was my first time making it and the dough was a little crumbly. It tastes so sweet and perfect. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is exactly how my Grannie made soda bread for me!! I don't like raisins, so she always made a "plain" cake for me..lol…love it!! Tastes just like it did in Barroe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Easy to make and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
It is so easy to prepare with basic ingredients. I seen earlier posts of it not cooking through, so I halved the dough in two and made 2 loaves. I didn't have buttermilk but I made my own with 1 cup milk + 1 tbsp vinegar (or you can do lemon) and let it "curd" a bit (5-10 mins) before adding to recipe. I didn't use raisins (personal choice) although it would've added the right amount of sweetness. I wanted it plain to serve alongside beef stew. Your hands are your best tools. The dough seemed so crumbly but it turned out perfect. Serve leftovers the next day with butter + honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Seemed crumbly, but tasted better than most I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States