Mom's Hot Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Yum! This is really, really good. Great cheese taste and it's fast and easy. We loved it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
I left out the bell pepper and lettuce, substituted ground turkey for the ground beef, and made this as a cheesy tortilla chip dip. My husband raved about it and said it was as good as the sauce served at our favorite Mexican restaurant! In fact, he was eating it out of the pan with a spoon. This one is a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Yum. Kind of similar to the macho nacho dip I make, but less cheesy. I used a prebagged salad blend (Southwestern caesar) that has a premade jalapeno ranch dressing, so that it came out as a taco salad kind of meal. This is the kind of thing I can eat over and over for dinner and lunches, if I make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Very good and easy. Not enough cheese for us though. Good hot weather supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
THis was a good taco salad recipe that we will definitely make again. We changed a few things such as adding some chili powder and using veggie crumbles instead of beef. We also put some salsa on it when topping our salad. The way the recipe is written it would make a good dip. For a salad though it had a little too much velvetta for me so I would reduce the amount of that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
MADE A DIP FROM THIS RECEIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is the closest Tex/Mex Taco Salad recipe I could find to my Grandmothers: We/She used Nacho Cheese Doritos crumbled instead of corn chips and added French Dressing enough for taste and always had some kind of beans in it Kidney or Pinto .... The texture was always so wonderful and the TASTE WOW! was made a couple times a week when I was growing up I am 44 so there ya go! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XSouthernRainX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Very good. only change was to add sour cream as topping and I cook the meat with Sazon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I did not have a pound and a half of ground meat, I used one pound of ground turkey. I also used a red bell pepper instead of green. My family liked this okay, we weren't in love with this but we ate it. It might have been better had I used homemade taco seasoning instead of just cumin and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States