Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So good! I'd never made Beef Stew that had dumplings in it before and these were great. A nice change of pace from a plain beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane A.
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Was very good! I left out the turnip since I couldn't find one at the store. The sauce/gravy was a bit runnier than I've had in other stews, but yet not thin enough to call it more of a "soup". We enjoyed this - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This stew had a wonderful flavor! I've never had steak seasoning prior to this and I really think that added more flavor to this dish. I followed the recipe to a T except adding a large carton of beef broth & 2 jars of Heinz gravy in place of the gravy mix. When everything was done, I thickened the juice with cornstarch & cold water and made my dumplings. Dumplings soak up quite a bit of the gravy, and we love gravy - so I make sure there was plenty. PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fantastic! Tender beef and satisfying dumplings! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Is your mom adopting? Childhood memories of really good cooking flooding back.......... Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
best stew Iever made (only one really) followed the recipe to a T.awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Normally, I do not like beef stew at all, but my husband likes it, so I thought I would try this version. It was delicious! I used a packaged herb brown gravy for beef to add more flavor and it was awesome. My opinion of beef stew has definitely changed thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
amazing! i just made this. made a couple changes to suit me and my boyfriends preferences. 1) used beef broth instead of the water and only added 1 package of the gravy mix (just to thicken) 2) used only 4 potatoes and added 1 large sweet potato 3) added fresh herbs to the dumplings other than that i followed the recipe to a "T" everybody loved it, i will deffinetly be making this again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I found this recipe really easy to follow. Just added my dumplings now so havent had a chance to taste them yet but I'm almost sure it is going to be the best beef stew I have made in years. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW may family loved this even my 12 year old son who HATES stew. I used bizquick for my dumplings and beef broth as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States