Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This stew had a wonderful flavor! I've never had steak seasoning prior to this and I really think that added more flavor to this dish. I followed the recipe to a T except adding a large carton of beef broth & 2 jars of Heinz gravy in place of the gravy mix. When everything was done, I thickened the juice with cornstarch & cold water and made my dumplings. Dumplings soak up quite a bit of the gravy, and we love gravy - so I make sure there was plenty. PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fantastic! Tender beef and satisfying dumplings! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Is your mom adopting? Childhood memories of really good cooking flooding back.......... Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Was very good! I left out the turnip since I couldn't find one at the store. The sauce/gravy was a bit runnier than I've had in other stews, but yet not thin enough to call it more of a "soup". We enjoyed this - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
best stew Iever made (only one really) followed the recipe to a T.awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Normally, I do not like beef stew at all, but my husband likes it, so I thought I would try this version. It was delicious! I used a packaged herb brown gravy for beef to add more flavor and it was awesome. My opinion of beef stew has definitely changed thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
amazing! i just made this. made a couple changes to suit me and my boyfriends preferences. 1) used beef broth instead of the water and only added 1 package of the gravy mix (just to thicken) 2) used only 4 potatoes and added 1 large sweet potato 3) added fresh herbs to the dumplings other than that i followed the recipe to a "T" everybody loved it, i will deffinetly be making this again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I found this recipe really easy to follow. Just added my dumplings now so havent had a chance to taste them yet but I'm almost sure it is going to be the best beef stew I have made in years. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW may family loved this even my 12 year old son who HATES stew. I used bizquick for my dumplings and beef broth as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So good! I'd never made Beef Stew that had dumplings in it before and these were great. A nice change of pace from a plain beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States