Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
amazing! i just made this. made a couple changes to suit me and my boyfriends preferences. 1) used beef broth instead of the water and only added 1 package of the gravy mix (just to thicken) 2) used only 4 potatoes and added 1 large sweet potato 3) added fresh herbs to the dumplings other than that i followed the recipe to a "T" everybody loved it, i will deffinetly be making this again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very tasty stew. However, I used Swanson's beef broth in a carton instead of water simply because I prefer a richer flavor to the gravy. I also added about half a cu of Merlot wine. I used all the other ingredients as given and it was excellent. My problem is with the dumplings, but maybe I jut don't understand dumplings. The recipe doesn't say how big the spoonfulls should be. Mine turned out gummy and tasted of flour. I tossed them out and served mashed potatos on the side. We enjoyed the stew just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Awesome! I had to tweak it a bit, but only because I didn't have a some of the ingredients. No olive oil, so I used canola. No gravy mix, so I used onion soup mix and a can of cream of mushroom soup. No turnip, so I used a can of diced tomatoes - Italian style. I also used a bag of frozen stew vegetables instead of fresh. Because there was no gravy mix, I had to thicken it up with a bit of flour and cold water, which worked out great! Made the Bisquick dumplings to accompany and it was DELISH! There is no need for any other stew recipe, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic! Great flavor. I did reduce the potatoes to about 4, and added canned green beans and corn. I used Bisquick for the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW may family loved this even my 12 year old son who HATES stew. I used bizquick for my dumplings and beef broth as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Is your mom adopting? Childhood memories of really good cooking flooding back.......... Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fantastic! Tender beef and satisfying dumplings! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love this recipe! I have yet to make the dumplings, aside from that I make the recipe exactly as is. My bf told me this was better than his mother's stew! Which is quite the compliment she can cook! He told me he wants it at least once a week if not more! The meat ends up so tender, a definate must have recipe. This will for sure stay in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So good! I'd never made Beef Stew that had dumplings in it before and these were great. A nice change of pace from a plain beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Was very good! I left out the turnip since I couldn't find one at the store. The sauce/gravy was a bit runnier than I've had in other stews, but yet not thin enough to call it more of a "soup". We enjoyed this - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States