Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this last night for dinner. WOW!!! I had to make some adjustments since I didn't have all the items needed. 1) Didn't have a turnip, 2) Didn't have 4 pkgs. of dry gravy mix only 1. Substituted 8 beef cubes and 1 cup of water then added 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is mine and my boyfriend's favorite supper recipe. It is simple to make, and tastes fantastic! i dont bother with the celery, turnips, and have made it without the onions as well, and it still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Awesome! I had to tweak it a bit, but only because I didn't have a some of the ingredients. No olive oil, so I used canola. No gravy mix, so I used onion soup mix and a can of cream of mushroom soup. No turnip, so I used a can of diced tomatoes - Italian style. I also used a bag of frozen stew vegetables instead of fresh. Because there was no gravy mix, I had to thicken it up with a bit of flour and cold water, which worked out great! Made the Bisquick dumplings to accompany and it was DELISH! There is no need for any other stew recipe, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love this recipe! I have yet to make the dumplings, aside from that I make the recipe exactly as is. My bf told me this was better than his mother's stew! Which is quite the compliment she can cook! He told me he wants it at least once a week if not more! The meat ends up so tender, a definate must have recipe. This will for sure stay in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic! Great flavor. I did reduce the potatoes to about 4, and added canned green beans and corn. I used Bisquick for the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This stew had a wonderful flavor! I've never had steak seasoning prior to this and I really think that added more flavor to this dish. I followed the recipe to a T except adding a large carton of beef broth & 2 jars of Heinz gravy in place of the gravy mix. When everything was done, I thickened the juice with cornstarch & cold water and made my dumplings. Dumplings soak up quite a bit of the gravy, and we love gravy - so I make sure there was plenty. PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So good! I'd never made Beef Stew that had dumplings in it before and these were great. A nice change of pace from a plain beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW may family loved this even my 12 year old son who HATES stew. I used bizquick for my dumplings and beef broth as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I found this recipe really easy to follow. Just added my dumplings now so havent had a chance to taste them yet but I'm almost sure it is going to be the best beef stew I have made in years. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishdadish
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this for dinner last night the only real major difference is that I used about 1/2 pkg. McCormick beef stew seasoning,added some black pepper, garlic powder, a few fresh basil leaves & paprika and I didnt have any turnips on hand, it turned out great and reminded me of my moms beef stew she used to make only her biscuits were made with bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States