Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love this recipe! I have yet to make the dumplings, aside from that I make the recipe exactly as is. My bf told me this was better than his mother's stew! Which is quite the compliment she can cook! He told me he wants it at least once a week if not more! The meat ends up so tender, a definate must have recipe. This will for sure stay in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic! Great flavor. I did reduce the potatoes to about 4, and added canned green beans and corn. I used Bisquick for the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This stew had a wonderful flavor! I've never had steak seasoning prior to this and I really think that added more flavor to this dish. I followed the recipe to a T except adding a large carton of beef broth & 2 jars of Heinz gravy in place of the gravy mix. When everything was done, I thickened the juice with cornstarch & cold water and made my dumplings. Dumplings soak up quite a bit of the gravy, and we love gravy - so I make sure there was plenty. PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So good! I'd never made Beef Stew that had dumplings in it before and these were great. A nice change of pace from a plain beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW may family loved this even my 12 year old son who HATES stew. I used bizquick for my dumplings and beef broth as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I found this recipe really easy to follow. Just added my dumplings now so havent had a chance to taste them yet but I'm almost sure it is going to be the best beef stew I have made in years. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishdadish
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this for dinner last night the only real major difference is that I used about 1/2 pkg. McCormick beef stew seasoning,added some black pepper, garlic powder, a few fresh basil leaves & paprika and I didnt have any turnips on hand, it turned out great and reminded me of my moms beef stew she used to make only her biscuits were made with bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
pretty good, just a little to salty. Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
this was decilious my whole family loved it and picky eaters as well . I did add more carrots but that was all will make this again. thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I thought this stew was the best i've ever made. The only change I made was using beef broth instead of water. I made this for company and received rave reviews. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States