Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I definitely "took liberties" with this recipe - but it is forgiving, and a fantastic base to tweak to your personal preferences. I used less water and gravy packets (because my hubby doesn't like soups / stews very much so I keep them as thick as possible), used 3 large russet potatoes, omitted the turnip and used a packet of mushroom gravy and chicken gravy since I was out of "brown". I added a little seasoning to the dumpling mixture as well - some garlic salt, parsley and basil. I only had 2 hours as well since I started dinner later then intended. Came out SO GOOD. The meat was still tender, thick with gravy and yummy potatoes and veggies, and the dumplings were fantastic. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very good add some extras like sweet potatoes,beef broth, and veggies. Also used bisquick for the dumplings! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Neugent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was simple and easy. I could not find a turnip though. The meat fell apart in this and shredded by the time this was finished. I couldn't fix the dumplings as there was no room in my pot for them on top. This made a huge pot full of stew. This is a good standard recipe and a great starting point for adding your own variations and making this your own. I used hamburger seasoning and some Texas Roadhouse seasoning instead of Montreal. The gravy was a bit thin so I mixed another gravy pouch with 1/4 c. water and then added it in to thicken it a little. We left the celery in and used whole baby carrots. I did use a mix of chicken broth and beef broth instead of water since I had them open and wanted to use them up. This really needed a little something and neither hubby nor I could figure out what we were missing. I only added a little black pepper and nothing else to this. I will be using this again only trying it in the crockpot the next time. I really want to use a larger pot so there is room for the dumplings. I simply made drop biscuits and baked them in the oven. Thanks for the nice EASY meal. It did take all day to fix though so do plan ahead and start this one early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
very good stew..my picky kid and grandchild even ate it! So that gets an A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Like a lot of others, I didn't use a turnip. The taste was good and the beef nice and tender! My changes: I substituted beef broth for the water and added a packet of Swanson's flavor boost as well. I reduced the potatoes to 5 (plenty), left the celery in (I'd chopped it up a bit more), added mushrooms and used flour/water for gravy portion since I'd already put the beef broth and flavor boost in, it worked out just fine. If I did it again, I'd increase the carrots, add green beans in there, mushrooms again and probably add more celery. I agree with the other reviewers--great recipe, can use more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Added garlic during the beef tenderizing simmer, I'd also add more pepper, it was a bit salty so I'll take that into consideration the next time but otherwise, my family loved it. Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
this was delicious!I didnt make the dumplings but next time I will...instead of turnips i used squashed...yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Pretty good recipe! I used an old Newfie recipe for the dumplings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this last night for dinner. WOW!!! I had to make some adjustments since I didn't have all the items needed. 1) Didn't have a turnip, 2) Didn't have 4 pkgs. of dry gravy mix only 1. Substituted 8 beef cubes and 1 cup of water then added 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is mine and my boyfriend's favorite supper recipe. It is simple to make, and tastes fantastic! i dont bother with the celery, turnips, and have made it without the onions as well, and it still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States