Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very good add some extras like sweet potatoes,beef broth, and veggies. Also used bisquick for the dumplings! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was simple and easy. I could not find a turnip though. The meat fell apart in this and shredded by the time this was finished. I couldn't fix the dumplings as there was no room in my pot for them on top. This made a huge pot full of stew. This is a good standard recipe and a great starting point for adding your own variations and making this your own. I used hamburger seasoning and some Texas Roadhouse seasoning instead of Montreal. The gravy was a bit thin so I mixed another gravy pouch with 1/4 c. water and then added it in to thicken it a little. We left the celery in and used whole baby carrots. I did use a mix of chicken broth and beef broth instead of water since I had them open and wanted to use them up. This really needed a little something and neither hubby nor I could figure out what we were missing. I only added a little black pepper and nothing else to this. I will be using this again only trying it in the crockpot the next time. I really want to use a larger pot so there is room for the dumplings. I simply made drop biscuits and baked them in the oven. Thanks for the nice EASY meal. It did take all day to fix though so do plan ahead and start this one early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
very good stew..my picky kid and grandchild even ate it! So that gets an A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen1231

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Like a lot of others, I didn't use a turnip. The taste was good and the beef nice and tender! My changes: I substituted beef broth for the water and added a packet of Swanson's flavor boost as well. I reduced the potatoes to 5 (plenty), left the celery in (I'd chopped it up a bit more), added mushrooms and used flour/water for gravy portion since I'd already put the beef broth and flavor boost in, it worked out just fine. If I did it again, I'd increase the carrots, add green beans in there, mushrooms again and probably add more celery. I agree with the other reviewers--great recipe, can use more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Added garlic during the beef tenderizing simmer, I'd also add more pepper, it was a bit salty so I'll take that into consideration the next time but otherwise, my family loved it. Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
this was delicious!I didnt make the dumplings but next time I will...instead of turnips i used squashed...yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Pretty good recipe! I used an old Newfie recipe for the dumplings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this last night for dinner. WOW!!! I had to make some adjustments since I didn't have all the items needed. 1) Didn't have a turnip, 2) Didn't have 4 pkgs. of dry gravy mix only 1. Substituted 8 beef cubes and 1 cup of water then added 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is mine and my boyfriend's favorite supper recipe. It is simple to make, and tastes fantastic! i dont bother with the celery, turnips, and have made it without the onions as well, and it still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Awesome! I had to tweak it a bit, but only because I didn't have a some of the ingredients. No olive oil, so I used canola. No gravy mix, so I used onion soup mix and a can of cream of mushroom soup. No turnip, so I used a can of diced tomatoes - Italian style. I also used a bag of frozen stew vegetables instead of fresh. Because there was no gravy mix, I had to thicken it up with a bit of flour and cold water, which worked out great! Made the Bisquick dumplings to accompany and it was DELISH! There is no need for any other stew recipe, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States