Mom's Great Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
These did not go well over dinner. They did not have a lot of flavor and nobody wanted to eat them including my husband who usually likes any kind of vegetable. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I LOVE this recipe! I didn't use butter and I used garlic powder instead of garlic pepper. I also tried it with chicken bouillon. It's great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Great way to perk up plain canned green beans! I don't think I'll make green beans (especially canned) any other way! I especially like them with garlic mashed potatoes for some reason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
loved them... good flavor and easy to make! I used fresh grean beans and let them soak until soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Didn't turn out so great, not sure what happened. Just trying to spice up the vegetable fare at the dinner table, but this was not the ticket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Hmmm, maybe I did something wrong, but there really wasn't any additional flavor to these beans. I used frozen grean beans and a bit of water in place of the reserved juice. I will try marinating for a couple of hours next time before throwing them in the saucepan....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
These just have a nice different flavor. The first time I made them I kept thinking I wish more of the flavor went through the beans. Well, the next time I made them, I put the beans in a shallow container, poured the liquid on, sealed and let them marinate in the refrigerator for several hours. Great flavor. One thing I did differently. I don't use bouillon cubes, so used a teaspoon of beef soup base instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This gives a nice twist to green beans. My whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I must say I haven't made this recipe yet. But I'm always looking for a new vegetable recipe for the kids. But using canned string beans (which are already "cooked"), and then cooking for 15 minutes seems like you'd end up with mush. Even frozen would seem to be better. I don't buy too many canned vegetables. Only beets and maybe corn. I find that Frozen vegetables are so much better if you can't get fresh. I will try this tonight with the fresh beans I have in the fridge with my roast beef and mashed potatoes. The flavoring ingredients sound nice. And for that idea I thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I just love it. I don't make my green beans any other way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States