Mom's Great Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I served Denise's green beans with my Christmas dinner and everyone thought they were great. No leftovers. I followed her recipe to the letter with no alterations and wouldn't attempt change her recipe at all. Nice job Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I was hoping so much this would turn out good because of the reviews, but sadly no one like them :( just didnt like the flavor I guess I dont really know but they didnt get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I loved this recipe--simple and delicious way to dress up canned green beans. Also a lot less fat than the way I usually season green beans (with bacon grease) but with just as much flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Easy and delicious way to doctor up canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I was looking for an easy green bean recipe for tonight's dinner. Usually frozen green beans are a pretty tasteless side dish and I was hoping for a recipe that would rate seconds. This was very easy and very tasty. I used frozen green beans and also used my microwave. (16 oz. green beans and about 3/4 to one cup of water) As said before, it is a very subtle flavor. My husband and I both liked this side dish (and had seconds!)and I will be using this recipe often I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I can't believe how much I liked these! I love green beans anyway, but this made them a much more interesting side dish. I disagree with some of the reviews that said they didn't have enough flavor. I think the whole point is that the flavor is subtle so you can still taste the green beans. In my opinion adding extra spices or turning the liquid into a thickened sauce would defeat the purpose. Great recipe, Denise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
We didn't really care for these. I added more seasonings, teriyaki sauce and even thickened the liquid with a bit of cornstarch but they were still flavorless. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2004
This recipe didn't taste bad but it wasn't very flavorful either, hence the two stars. I would suggest adding more spices to this and maybe something to thicken the juices so that it reduces down to a sauce versus just sitting in liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Who would of ever thought... This was Terrific! Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
What a different taste! Served this at our Easter gathering and everyone loved them. They kept going back for seconds and thirds. I used a huge can of green beans from Sams Club and just tripled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States