Mom's Great Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
These were easy and tasty. I used fresh green beans just because we like them better than canned. I put the beans in a pot and put in water to approximate the amount that would have been in a can. I added the other ingredients and brought to a boil, then covered the pot and "steamed" them. Very good, a definite keeper. Even good leftover too. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
These were decent...but very salty and didn't really keep any of the good green bean flavor. I think I'll stick to steamed fresh green beans with a dash of salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very tasty, very simple. I didn't change a thing and will make these again. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
A tasty and easy way to make just canned green beans seem a little more than just canned green beans..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I am giving this a 4 star but only because the family liked them. I was not crazy about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was a delicious, easy to make side. I made this for a church dinner to accompany fried chicken. I used a 6 lb. can of green beans and scaled up the servings to 21 for the rest of the ingredients. I put it in the crock-pot on high for about an hour while I was getting ready. This kept it just perfect while serving. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Wow. Nice flavorful green bean dish. I'm not sure how to describe the flavor, but these were quite tasty. A great use for canned green beans! I used garlic salt and added a bit of minced garlic from the jar. Thanks Denise for sharing this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This added great flavor to the green beans and it was fast and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcie82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Sugar Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was a very special vegetable I served on Christmas day. I used 3 cans Italian green beans (to serve 10 people) and added frozen pearl onions. I did not drain the beans so that I could keep it warm (without drying out) in a crock pot til dinner was ready. The liquid cooked the onions in two hours with crock pot on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky
Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I asked my husband to rate these and he answered, "Four and a half stars". (I didn't eat them due to allergies.) Since this recipe provided me with a quick and easy way to make my green beans delicious forever more, I'm tempted to give them five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States