Mom's Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Grilled cheese deserves five stars just as a food item. I guess I'm not quite sure why this one is any more surprising than any other considering the base ingredients are bread and cheese. If you want to make this a five star standout, pair it with a five star soup, ie Barr's French Onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
It was okay, but nothing I would call a gourmet sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Excellent! I used olive oil instead of the butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great flavor! The three cheeses make this so flavorful--even my picky child ate it and loved it! At medium heat, I did smoke out my kitchen, dining room, and living room so I had to turn it just below medium. A good variation is adding ham and replacing the Parmesan with Swiss. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This sandwich takes grilled cheese up quite a few notches. I used slices of Amish White Bread from this site and baked the buttered sandwiches in the oven at 400 degrees for 6-8 minutes per side just because I can get a more even browning that way. I didn't read the recipe closely and put the parmesan inside the sandwich rather than on the outside, but I intend to make my grilled cheese sandwiches this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Hmm, I don't know about this one. I followed the recipe, but made 3. I used butter with canola oil, and 3 Tblsp had the sandwiches sitting in tons of oil. Then, I was wondering how the parmesan cheese wasn't going to stick to the pan, and I was right! They parmesan cheese stuck to the pan and it tore the bread right up. It seemed like a lot of cheese, when the end result was a greasy regular tasting grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Yummylicious. This was really tasty and a wonderful change up from a plain grilled cheese. The parmesan added a nice flavor. This was really filling and I could only finish half. Thanks Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good. I too mixed the parm with softened butter. It made a delicious crust on the bread. Next time I will add a little garlic to the butter as well and maybe a tomato slice. Good as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this. I usually only eat whole wheat bread, so eating the Italian bread was fun in itself. I also melted the butter with a bit of garlic as someone suggested. Next time think I will try it subbing the American for mozzarella. Love it, thanks Nicolemicah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
The more cheese the better. Be sure to use a quality cheddar and real shredded or sliced parmesan. I've made this on sourdough and french bread and it is always fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States