Mom's Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
It was okay, but nothing I would call a gourmet sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Excellent! I used olive oil instead of the butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great flavor! The three cheeses make this so flavorful--even my picky child ate it and loved it! At medium heat, I did smoke out my kitchen, dining room, and living room so I had to turn it just below medium. A good variation is adding ham and replacing the Parmesan with Swiss. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This sandwich takes grilled cheese up quite a few notches. I used slices of Amish White Bread from this site and baked the buttered sandwiches in the oven at 400 degrees for 6-8 minutes per side just because I can get a more even browning that way. I didn't read the recipe closely and put the parmesan inside the sandwich rather than on the outside, but I intend to make my grilled cheese sandwiches this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Hmm, I don't know about this one. I followed the recipe, but made 3. I used butter with canola oil, and 3 Tblsp had the sandwiches sitting in tons of oil. Then, I was wondering how the parmesan cheese wasn't going to stick to the pan, and I was right! They parmesan cheese stuck to the pan and it tore the bread right up. It seemed like a lot of cheese, when the end result was a greasy regular tasting grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Yummylicious. This was really tasty and a wonderful change up from a plain grilled cheese. The parmesan added a nice flavor. This was really filling and I could only finish half. Thanks Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good. I too mixed the parm with softened butter. It made a delicious crust on the bread. Next time I will add a little garlic to the butter as well and maybe a tomato slice. Good as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this. I usually only eat whole wheat bread, so eating the Italian bread was fun in itself. I also melted the butter with a bit of garlic as someone suggested. Next time think I will try it subbing the American for mozzarella. Love it, thanks Nicolemicah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
The more cheese the better. Be sure to use a quality cheddar and real shredded or sliced parmesan. I've made this on sourdough and french bread and it is always fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
OH MY is this ever good! I didn't have sourdough bread (which is my favorite) so I used thick sliced italian bread. I softened the butter and added the parmesan to it along with a bit of garlic and oregano (kinda like a garlic bread paste). I actually made two of these they were so good. The second one with tomato in between sprinkled with a bit of salt and cracked black pepper. These would be great with tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States