Mom's Goulash in the Microwave Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Exactly what I had hoped it would be, thank you! My only change (ingredient wise) was that the diced tomatos had basil, oregano and garlic already mixed in which added fantastic flavor! I opted to saute the garlic, a little more celery and little less onion, browned the beef and simmered all together on the stovetop. (My microwave tends to go on the fritz so I prefer the stovetop.) Before serving I sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on the top. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Heikkinen Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I"m giving this 5 stars because I, myself, made a couple of goofs. I did an "oops" with the cayenne pepper, which doesn't bother my family much, and the tomato sauce I had were 8oz cans so I felt like it could have been better with a little more tomato sauce. Oh, since I made it on my stove, I sauteed the onions & celery. Then browned the ground beef. Then added it all together in a large skillet and let it simmer a few minutes. It was good and I will be making it again . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Great! The only thing that was not so tasty was the caraway, which I will omit in the future. The caraway overpowers the taste of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriln

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Not the fanciest meal out there but very good nonetheless. I omitted the celery, sugar, paprika, caraway seed and cayenne and added in black pepper, tomato paste, garlic powder, extra can of tomatoes and basil. I had about 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef. I cooked this on the stovetop, not in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was good. This is one of the better goulash recipies out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this on the stovetop. And this recipe was really good. The leftovers were even better. I will forsure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was so good,my boys loved it. I didn't make it in the microwave,I used my crock pot.I put everything in the crock pot except the noodles and let it simmer while I was at work,then added the noodles when I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Made this on the stovetop, and it was tasty--only omitted the caraway because my family doesn't like the taste. I know microwaves are convenient, but cooking in them diminishes the nutritionial value of your foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze Knisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Quite yummy. I found it just as easy to do this stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomeroy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Tasty and easy to prepare. A real kid pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States