Mom's Goulash in the Microwave Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Without the macaroni this also makes a delicious topping for baked potatoes. Put a dollop of sour cream and some chopped parsley on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I have made this several times for my family and they love it. I have added and left out things and it always turns out great. I make the whole thing on the stove top instead of the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Ellsworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
We enjoyed this item, but I cooked it on the stovetop and left out the caraway seeds because I didn't have any. I used more tomatoes and sauce than asked because we like a saucy pasta. I also used pennini pasta instead of macaroni for a change. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Excellent quick-fix meal, with lots of leftovers. Like most of the other reviewers, I made this on the stovetop and left out the caraway seeds. I also substituted a can of tomato soup for the sauce because that was what was in the cupboard. My husband loved it, but it was a little too sweet for me - next time I'll cut back on the sugar and use smoked paprika instead of sweet. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Excellent dish! I am not fond of microwave cooking, so I assembled the dish and popped it in the oven for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. I left out the caraway seed and oregano, and used one can Rotel tomatoes (mexican flavor tomatoes with chilis) and one can fat free cream of mushroom soup instead of the tomato sauce. I felt that much tomato would be a bit overwhelming. Instead of the onions and celery, I substituted a bag of frozen "fajita blend" veggies (red & green bell pepper and onion), because that is what I had on hand. I quickly sauteed' these and poured off the residual fluid. Worked out beautifully and gave it a really great flavor. I also used whole wheat elbow macaroni instead of what was called for. Before I put it in the oven, I sprinkled the top with low fat shredded cheese and covered with foil. Super simple and super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: West Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this on the stovetop. And this recipe was really good. The leftovers were even better. I will forsure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
The recipe looked easy so I decided to try it. I cooked it on the stove instead of the microwave because I am not a fan of foods cooked in the microwave. I did away with the caraway seeds because I don't like the flavor. Shells were used instead of elbows and added a little more bite with the cayenne pepper. I added a little more tomato sauce and I am glad I did since the shells drank it in. It has a good taste. My family loved it and I am sure that I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Penns Grove, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
My family really enjoyed this easy recipe. I made it with shell pasta and added a little more tomato sauce and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Made this on the stovetop, and it was tasty--only omitted the caraway because my family doesn't like the taste. I know microwaves are convenient, but cooking in them diminishes the nutritionial value of your foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze Knisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Quite yummy. I found it just as easy to do this stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomeroy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States